Don’t be afraid… especially of this quinoa salad!

Let’s have a chat about fear.

My life has gone through a major upheaval /change in the last year, which I will not bore you with.  My biggest fear in all of this was that it would change me in a negative way.  Make me afraid to do/experience new things.  Fear can be a very powerful thing.  Sometimes that’s not a bad thing, Like when you your 8th grade bestie tells you to get into a shopping cart so she can push down a hill…. A story for another time… um btw, don’t get in.

It can also hold you back from experiencing new things, achieving new goals or meeting new amazing people #kittykat.  You know what follows fear…2 things, depending on your choices… regret or satisfaction.

I was at the gym a few weeks back and we were doing max box jumps… I remember standing in front of a 33.5 box jump, thinking of all the negative things that could happen if I missed it… the bruised shines, looking silly as I fell over, then I thought about how cool it would be if I made it, and with a little positive peer pressure *thanks Sylvie and Liz,  I jumped….and I made it …pure satisfaction, no regret.

Recently someone has come into my life that processes this modest confidence that seems to make them un-afraid of anything.  I strive to be exactly like this…. from box jumps to love!   cause let’s face it people… that moment before you jump is the only scary part…. The fall is always amazing, and hopefully you don’t hit the ground too hard.

Get scared, jump anyways, oh …and eat this salad!

salad

Warm Chicken Quinoa Brussels Sprout Salad

Simple Balsamic Dressing

1/3 of a Cup of Olive Oil
2 Tablespoons of Balsamic Vinaigrette
1 Tablespoon of Honey
2 Cloves of Garlic, minced
Salt and Pepper, to Taste

The Salad

1 Small Onion, Chopped
2 Garlic Cloves, minced or chopped
1 Tablespoon of Olive Oil/Butter
2 Cups of Quinoa, Cooked ( I used tri-color, cause it’s pretty)
2 Cups of Shredded Chicken
Salt and Pepper
½ Cup of Toasted Pecans (always toast your nuts!)
1 Cup of Dried Cranberries
4 Tablespoons of Parmesan Cheese

For the salad dressing

Mix all the salad dressing ingredients in an air tight container and set aside

For the Salad

Cook the Quinoa according to package directions, I find that one cup of Quinoa makes about 2 cups cooked.

Cooked and shred your chicken, unless you have leftover chicken and it doesn’t have to be shredded.  I usually boil a couple of chicken breast in tea, for about 20-25 mins, and then shred it.

Heat olive oil or butter in a large skillet over medium heat, add the onions and cook until translucent, add the garlic and the chopped Brussels sprouts.

While the Brussels sprouts are cooking, heat a small pan on low heat and toast up those pecans, as soon as they start to brown remove the pan from the heat.

As soon as your Brussels sprouts start to brown, toss in the pecans, quinoa and 2-3 tablespoons of the dressing.  Stir for 2-3 mins, until the whole things is warm.

Serve in bowls, plates or straight out of the pan, top with cranberries and parmesan cheese.

Enjoy!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Don’t be afraid… especially of this quinoa salad!

  1. That looks delicious! I am just getting into clean eating and have never tried cooking quinoa. Will have to give it a try soon. Where do you like to buy your ingredients? I you like to use organic?

Go ahead.. leave a comment

