Why is my Ass on fire?!?!… and some clean cookies

Okay this one’s for all the ladies (and some of you gents) that pound out excessive sit-up at the gym.

I have endured my fair share of aches, pains and injuries, from shoulder pulls, knee pain, bruised shines, double under whips, but nothing beats the ridiculous pain you can endure from the common sit-up.. Yeah you read that right!  I said SIT-UPS.

I mean what could go wrong with a sit up, right.  All kinds of horrible can go wrong with a sit-up.  For some reason not everyone gets this particular injury and even less talk about it.

Mine started about a year ago when I started crossfit.  Up until that point I had never really done more than 10 sit ups in a row, and well, in Crossfit that just silly.  Try 50-100.

So the first time I did an insane amount of sit-ups it was after an oly (Olympic) lifting class.  I have a decent core, and I was able to complete the full set of 100 sit-ups in a row in pretty good time.  So after I rocked out these 100 sit-ups, I hopped in my car ( I stretched first, or course) and headed home for a shower.

Little did I know this would be the most painful shower IN MY ENTIRE LIFE!  Some of you are scratching your heads, while some of you are nodding and wincing at the same time.

I stepped into the shower, to clean off the sweat of an awesome workout… when I turned around, and the water hit my back and rushed down and hit my butt.  To this day it was one of the most excruciating painful moments of my life… and I have fractured my tail bone!… It was like acid was being poured on my ass.. (Thanks for the reference Liz, it describes the sensation perfectly ).    I immediately screamed and jumped out of the shower.  WTF was that.  Sorry for all the profanity folks, but if you have felt what I felt, you totally understand.

Not only did it feel like acid had been poured on my butt, it looked like it…

That wasn’t the end of the torture… oh nooooo!, for the next 2 weeks I was unable to site, or lie down properly.  This people, was cause by sit-ups!  Yeah you heard me SIT-UPS!

SO how do you avoid this… I finally did some research on the subject and have managed to control it … first, do sit-ups with some sort of matt under you instead of just the floor.  The coaches at our gym have taken pity on us and now roll out the big handstand mat for us (THANK YOU !!).  You could also work on your form, like everything else, If your form sucks, you get hurt.  Last but not least, go buy some body glide and rub it all over the crack of your butt before a workout.  It really helps.  I like this brand because it doesn’t leave a greasy stain on those lulu lemon shorts you feel bad even sweating in because you paid so much for them.

Here’s wishing you all, scab free sit-ups, and make these cookies.  They’ll help ease the pain.

IMG_5167

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies *Clean*

¾ Cup of Coconut Oil, Melted and Cooled
1 ½ Cups of Spelt Flour
1 Teaspoon each of Baking Powder and Baking Soda, and Cinnamon
½ Teaspoon of Salt
2 Large Eggs
1 Teaspoon of Vanilla
2 ¾ Cup of Rolled Oats, I used the quick kind
1 1/3 Cup of Coconut Sugar
¾ Cup each of Thompson and Sultana Raisins (for Sylvie)

 

Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees, and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Melt the coconut oil, I did this in the microwave for about 30-40 seconds, set aside to cool.

In a medium bowl,  mix together , flour, baking powder, baking soda,  Salt and cinnamon, I used a whisk. Set aside.

In a larger bowl, mix cooled coconut oil, eggs, vanilla and coconut sugar.  Using a wooden spoon, mix in the dry ingredients mixed earlier.  Now fold in the oats and raisins.

Using a tablespoon and wet hands (this helps the dough not to stick) scoop out, form into balls, and then flatten slightly on the prepared baking sheet .

 

Bake for 11-13 minutes, or until the edges are brown.

#kittykat

Go ahead.. leave a comment

