Apple Cinnamon Steel Cut Oats

I’m back!  I know, I know it’s been like a million years since my last post! <insert excuse here :_____ and here:_____).  I do have some really good excuses, but I won’t bore you with them right now, maybe later.

Sooo, you like the changes to the blog?!?  Comments? Suggestions?  Keep ‘em to yourself… I kid, I kid (sort of).  The biggest changes I’ve made have really been going on in my life over the last year or so.   If you have followed me over the years, I started this blog as a way to share all the yummy (and not so healthy) food I made.  In the past year I have gone clean, no that doesn’t mean I shower more (but perhaps I should consider that… never mind).  It basically means I stay away from preservatives as best I can.  You can read about it in the top menu, labeled Clean Eating Challenge.  Since my little challenge ended last March, I have maintained this way of eating, to a point.  I still stay away from sugar, I try and avoid eating anything I cannot pronounce, eat more fresh food, and do more meal prep.  Of course no one can eat like this ALL the time, unless you’re in training for a fitness competition, or preparing for the Crossfit Games (go Physics team).  I do take one meal a week and eat whatever I want.  I mean it too. Mainly, I save my “cheat meal” for indulging my inner foodie.  This usually means checking out a new restaurant or buying a big bag of marshmallows eating all to myself.

The other thing that I have changed is I’ve stepped up my fitness.  I have always been a runner, and I also did some strength training.  Then someone fed me some Crossfit kool-aid and I’m totally addicted.  So, I apologize ahead of time for being “that Crossfit” person.  I’ll do my best not to go on and on and on and on about it.  Mr. PBandO is also addicted, he won’t admit it, but he’s hooked!

In saying all of that, I’m going to change the focus of my little blog to chat about this new way of life, because it’s not a diet, or a phase, it’s a lifestyle.  (OMG I’m one of those people now!!).   I will still post recipes, but I’m going to also try and include tips, and stories about what I’m doing in my fitness and I’ll share interesting articles, and web sites I stumble on that can help you (and me) design your own body, in the kitchen and in the gym.

Hope you like the changes!

apple cinnamon steel cut oats.JPG

This is a recipe for Apple Cinnamon steel cut oats.  I usually make this on Sunday and then divide it up into smaller portions, so I can take it to work.  It’s one of many meal prep things I do to make my life easier during a busy week.   It helps me avoid the drive through breakfast sandwich (god I miss those!).

Enjoy!

P.S.  I had the hiccups the entire time I was writing this post, and I can’t get rid of them!  Ugh!!!!

P.P.S  I think I only mentioned Crossfit 3 times! (Oops, make that 4!)

 

Apple Cinnamon Steel Cut Oats
1 Cup of Steel Cut Oats
4 Cups of Water
1-2 Apples (I used granny smith)
¼ Teaspoon of Nutmeg
1 Teaspoon of Cinnamon
**optional ¼ Cup of Coconut Sugar (or any other unrefined sugar)

I a medium pot, bring water to a boil, add steel cut oats, apple(s), nutmeg, cinnamon, and sugar (if adding) and lower the heat to a simmer.  Simmer for 25-30 mins, stirring a couple of times.

At this point I allow it to cool and I divide it into 5-6 containers, and place in the fridge for the rest of the week.  It makes about 6 cups.

 

One thought on “Apple Cinnamon Steel Cut Oats

Go ahead.. leave a comment

