Plum Cake

Plum Cake-6I made us cake!   Not just any cake, THIS plum cake.   If you haven’t heard of this cake, you are living under a rock… which is probably located beside my rock. I tend to be a little slow with the trends. I mean I just got into skinny jeans, and I’m sure they are out now.

Plum Cake-2I may have an alternative motive for presenting you with this cake. If you are one of my 3 followers, you may have noticed ALL I post is salad.  I figured if I’m gonna make you read my ramblings, perhaps I should make you cake.

Plum Cake-3I actually need some advice. Here’s the big question on my mind lately. Am I too old for my nose ring? I know what you’re thinking.. “Tracy there are so many other important world topics to discuss, like hunger, poverty, and even world peace.”

Plum Cake-4Not that I don’t sit around pretentious coffee shops contemplating these world issues with all my incredible cool and hip bohemian friends (these people don’t actually exist)….but this is MY blog, and here we discuss MY insanely self-absorbed issues. Things like social media stealing my soul and me learning how to properly text with my teenage step daughter.

Plum Cake-5I always said I wouldn’t be one of those women that didn’t know when it was time to put away the tight jeans, low cut shirts, and I would know when to take out my piercings, and start listening to age appropriate music.

Plum Cake-7Um… fail, fail, fail and FAIL.

Plum Cake-8I have realized that as I get older the age “appropriate” line is getting blurred. So you know what, screw it… I’ll be one of those women, in fact I’ll even step it up. New tattoos, more piercings, turn up the RAP, hell I’ll even sing along. Seriously people… life is too short, to wonder if you’re too old.

Plum Cake-9Oh and eat cake! The sweetness of this cake mixed with the tart of the plums, is to DIE for. You may want to remove your lip and/or tongue ring while you stuff your face with this…. Or not.

Plum Cake

[Adapted from http://smittenkitchen.com/blog/2013/10/purple-plum-torte/]

1 Cup of Flour
1 Teaspoon of Baking Powder
¼ Teaspoon of Salt
1 Cup of Sugar
½ Cup of Butter, Softened
2 Eggs
6 Large Plums (or 12 small)
2 Teaspoons of Lemon Juice
1 Teaspoon of Cinnamon

Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees.

In a medium bowl, whisk flour, baking powder and salt, set aside. In a large bowl, cream together sugar and butter, until smooth. Add eggs, until combined. Slowly added flour mixture, I did this in 3 batches, until it’s all blended and smooth looking.

Pour into UN-greased spring form pan. Spread evenly, I used the back of a spoon dipped in water, so it wouldn’t stick.

Cut plums in half and gently remove the pits. Press halves into the batter.

Bake for 50 – 60 minutes, or until tooth pick comes clean. Allow to cool completely before removing the spring form pan.

3 thoughts on “Plum Cake

  1. Pingback: Plum Cake | homethoughtsfromabroad626

Go ahead.. leave a comment

