Summer Orzo Salad

orzo summer salad-7

So it’s happened, I am no longer kool (that k is supposed to be there, keep reading). orzo summer salad-4It really started a few years ago on a camping trip, when my then 11 year old step daughter pointed to a group of people and refered to them as “The Adults”, and I was standing in that group. I choose to believe it was just a coincidence that I just happened to be standing near a bunch of “Adults”… even though those “Adults” weren’t that much older than me.

orzo summer saladThe deal was sealed about 2 weeks ago as my fabulously kool (again it’s supposed to be a K…) step daughter was texting a friend for me (cause we don’t text and drive) .   We got to talking about text etiquette.  Apparently I have been DRY texting.  I know, I know, you thought “Tracy’s not a dry texter”, but I am, and if your older than 30, you probably are too. Here are the ground rules; Never text the following words, ok, k, np, lol. Basically anything 3 letters and under is considered DRY,,,, except kk, which replaces just k.  Have I lost you yet.  Okay is used instead of ok…. Sheesh. orzo summer salad-3

So what the heck is dry… I seriously had no idea! It means you’re un-interested or bored… and its considered rude…I was schooled.  As a side note, she has also showed me how to snapchat… cause I need more social media in my life.
orzo summer salad-9

I’m not saying I’m going to change my whole way of texting, I mean I’m not a teenager… besides half of my friends would think I was rolled for my cell phone by a 15 year old. (how many of you knew what I meant by rolled?)  I did however get props for a recent text I sent my SD, I used a “K” in cool… told you I’d explain.  That’s not even one she pointed out.  All on my own people!   Look at me texting like a 14 year old. orzo summer salad-8By the way, this entire post has nothing to do with the fact that I’m trying to distract you from noticing I just posted another salad…. It’s not my fault. It was a special a request from friends who recently attended a BBQ here and loved this salad. It really was awesome.

 Summer Orzo Salad

[Adapted from Aimee super awesome book Brown Eggs and Jam Jars]

1 ½ Cups of Cherry Tomatoes
½ Teaspoon of Salt and Pepper
4 Tablespoons of Olive Oil
1 Cup of Sugar Snap Peas
1 Cup of Orzo Pasta
1 Lemon
10 -12 Fresh Basil Leaves
1 Small Garlic Clove
½ Teaspoon Salt and Pepper
¼ Cup of Fresh Grated Parmesan Cheese
¼ Cup of Pine Nuts

Pre-Heat the oven to 300 degrees, line a baking sheet with parchment paper or spray with a non-stick spray. Set aside.

Cut cherry tomatos in half and toss with 2 tablespoons of olive oil, salt and pepper. Spread out on the prepared baking sheet. Bake for 30 mins, tossing a couple times.

Cut the ends off the snap peas and cut them into ½ inch pieces.

Meanwhile, cook the orzo in a medium pot of boiling salted water, for 7 minutes. Add the snap peas and cook for 1 more minute. Drain well and spread out onto parchments paper (do not user paper towel, it’ll stick, seriously.. what a pain)

Turn up the oven to 400 degrees, spread pine nuts onto a baking sheet. Bake for 10 minutes, shaking the baking sheet a couple of times.

In a large bowl, zest lemon, then juice it.   Chop the basil and stir into the lemon mixture. Grate the garlic in and add, salt, pepper and 3 tablespoons of olive oil.

Add tomato and the orzo/pea mixtures, until well coated. Add the Parmesan cheese and toasted pine nuts.

One thought on “Summer Orzo Salad

Go ahead.. leave a comment

