Strawberry Cream Cake

There is a constant temperature battle in my house.

Strawberry Cream Cake-13

I know we are not alone in this gender battle.   I call it a gender battle because I truly believe men and women have different ( and by that I mean completely opposite) internal temperature gauges.

Strawberry Cream Cake-2

In the winter I like to be able to sit in my house, with long pants and a long sleeve shirt… ITS WINTER.  And in the summer, I’m completely ok with sitting in my house, in my shorts and a t-shirt… BECAUSE ITS SUMMER.

Strawberry Cream Cake-3

The only thing that seems to have settle this battle is agreeing on a specific temperature (reluctantly)and setting the schedule.

Strawberry Cream Cake-7

There has also been a few other temperature compromise.  I have the WORST allergies, so even on those beautiful rare and cool summer nights, the windows have to stay closed, so the compromise is to have a hurricane in our bedroom.

Strawberry Cream Cake-6

I kid, I kid… sort of.  Quick quo pro about me… I HATE blowing air.  Like no car windows down, got a cruise and to my horror realized I was in for 7 days of constant wind.

Strawberry Cream Cake-8

Sometimes, when Mr.PBandO comes to bed and turns on his hurricane machine fan, I pretend to roll off the bed.  I think it’s funny… he doesn’t.

Strawberry Cream Cake-9

But that is the price of relationships, you agree on temperatures you don’t like and you endure wind storms in your bedroom…. LOVE you babe.

Strawberry Cream Cake-11

Oh ya… I have been craving cake lately…. And this one’s a doozy, (said the 85 year old lady inside me..;)

Strawberry Cream Cake

[adapted from http://www.marthastewart.com/313610/strawberry-cream-cake]

Cake

1 ½ cups of flour
2 teaspoons of baking powder
½ teaspoon of salt
½ cup unsalted butter, softened
½  cup of sugar
2 eggs, 2 egg yolks
½ teaspoon of vanilla
½ cup of milk

Strawberry Filling

¼ cup of sugar
2 cups of strawberries, cut and hulled
1 teaspoon of unflavored gelatin

Whip Cream Filling

1 ½ cups of whipping cream
¼ cup of sugar

Pre-Heat the oven to 350 degrees.  Line an 8 inch round cake pan with parchment paper, and spray or butter the sides of the pan, set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk flour, baking powder and salt, set aside.

Using an electric mixer, or stand mixer with paddle attachment, beat butter and ½ cup of sugar, until light and fluffy.  Add the eggs and egg yolks, one at a time, making sure each is blended until you add the next.  Add the vanilla.  Add 1/3 of the flour, until blended, now add ½ of the milk.  Continue this patter until all is blended, finishing with the flour.

Pour the batter into the prepared pan, using a flat spatula to spread.  Bake for 30-35 minutes, or until a tooth pick comes clean.  Allow to cook on a wire rack.

Toppings

In a large bowl, mix strawberries and sugar, set aside in the fridge.

In a small sauce pan, heat 2 tablespoons of water, add gelatin, remove from hear, you just want the gelatin to dissolve, allow to cool slightly.

Using an electric mixer or a stand mixer with the whisk attachment, blend sugar and whipping cream, until soft peaks form.  Slowly add the gelatin mixture, while the whisk is still going.    Just for 30 seconds, you don’t want stiff peaks.

Assemble the Cake

Cut the cooled cake in half with a serrated knife. ( I totally googled this technique)

Arrange half the strawberries on the bottom half of the cake, and top with half the whipping cream.  Place the top piece on.  Spread the rest of the whipping cream on the top piece, leave a inch border, I measured this.  Place in the fridge until ready to serve, then pour the rest of strawberries on top.

2 thoughts on “Strawberry Cream Cake

  1. Pingback: Strawberry Cream Cake | homethoughtsfromabroad626

Go ahead.. leave a comment

