Sweet Potato Chips

Sweet Potato Chips-9A friend said something interesting to me the other day. I believe the exact words were “ I would love to have more (muscle) definition, but I also want to enjoy life. I like chips!

Sweet Potato Chips

The first thing that came to mind was “Mmmm I like chips too, I should make some” then I contemplated what they had said about enjoying life.

Sweet Potato Chips-3As crazy as I have been about my eating and fitness, I too really just want to enjoy life. It’s all well and good to be healthy, but it’s so important to “enjoy life”, whether it’s eating the best pizza ever, or skipping that workout to hang with some friends.

Sweet Potato Chips-4For me, it’s enjoying a glass of wine. I have mentioned on the blog before, that it’s been 7 years since I was able to have a sip of alcohol. But lately I am able to enjoy a (just one) glass of wine. If I try and squeeze in a second, the sneezing starts, and doesn’t stop.

Sweet Potato Chips-5OK back to these chips. For some reason my mind will always gravitate to food in a conversation. I just could get the idea out of my head about making homemade chips. I still wanted the try and make then healthy, so I headed over to Ashley’s site, and sure enough, she had perfected the art of CRISPY sweet potato chips.

Sweet Potato Chips-6

I have listed the basic recipe and instructions below, but visit Ashley’s site for her version of the recipe and for some awesome tips to making these really crispy. She also has a super simple avocado dip.

Sweet Potato Chips-7So if you will excuse me, I’ll be over hear enjoying a glass of wine and some sweet potato fries.

Sweet Potato Chips

[Adapted from http://www.edibleperspective.com/home/2015/1/26/crispy-baked-sweet-potato-chips.html]

1 Medium Sweet Potato

Olive Oil

Sea Salt

Line a large baking sheet with tin foil, and brush it with olive oil, set aside. Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Using a mandolin , or very sharp knife, cut the sweet potato to 1/8 of an inch. Toss in a large bowl with 2 tablespoons of olive oil, lay out on the prepared baking sheet, do not overlap.

Bake for 15 minutes, then flip, bake for 8-10 more minute, and lip again. At this point you will notice the potatoes, starting to curl at the edges and brown slightly. Place bake in the oven for 4 minutes. Remove and smaller chips that are brown and the edges are curled in, place them on a wire rack. Keep flipping and removing any that are done, in 4 minute intervals, until all the chips are finished cooking.

Sprinkle with salt. Allow to cool completely, they should turn out crispy and not soft in the centre.

Go ahead.. leave a comment

