Goat Cheese and Veggie Stuffed Chicken

Goat Cheese and Veggie Chicken (2)So I have declared this THE “super, crazy, insane, push myself physically until I want to cry” SUMMER.  I have not only joined a boot camp, but now I have signed up for a Spartan race?!?!

Goat Cheese and Veggie ChickenI have no idea what I have gotten myself into.  I think what scares me the most is when I tell people, most of the time I get “OMG you signed up for tha!t?”  Which tells me 2 things, its crazy hard, and I’m crazy stupid.
Which brings me to my next point,  apparently it’s in bad form to discuss your fitness.  Like its right up there with telling people how much you make.  Like you’re bragging or something.  I have a huge problem with this.
I too, before engaging in rigorous physical activity, and eating clean, thought fit people were either crazy, or thought they were better than me…. Guess what, they were (both).  And they had every right to show it off, they worked damn hard for it.

Goat Cheese and Veggie Chicken-2I get that there is a fine line between being dedicated and being obsessive,  but let’s face it folks, working out HARD and eating well requires a lot of focus and determination.  So I say, good for you for being fit.  I applaud that solo runner jogging after diner or when the sun first rises, and bravo to that person who munches on carrots, instead of that box of doughnuts.

Goat Cheese and Veggie Chicken-3I’m not saying you should never have a doughnut, or laze around on your couch in your underwear all day watching the new season of orange is the new black…. Too much info?  What I am saying is, we shouldn’t ridicule or call these healthy individuals crazy, we should praise them and aspire to be more like them.  So get out there and get fit, even if it means taking a walk after dinner, or choosing the stairs at work.  Maybe you just skip the pop with you’re happy mean and drink water instead.  What ever it is we should all want to live longer and live better.

Goat Cheese and Veggie Chicken-4

On that note, here is one of my favorite meals, lots of clean protein! Fills me up and keeps me going.

Goat Cheese Veggie Stuffed Chicken

[http://www.fitchicks.ca/blog/2015/05/chick-feed-3-ingredient-super-stuffed-chicken-recipe/]

2 Chicken Boneless Chicken Breast
1 Tablespoons of Olive Oil
Zucchini, Sliced
Red Pepper, Sliced
Carrot, I Peeled Mine into Strips
3-4 Small Mushrooms, Sliced
2 Tablespoons of Goat Cheese

Pre-Heat your oven to 350 degrees, and line a baking sheet with parchment or tin foil (spray with non-stick spray if using tin foil), set aside.

In a medium pan over medium heat, warm up the olive oil, add all the veggies and cook for 5-6 minutes, or until soft.

If you didn’t buy chicken breast that are already fillet, you can do it yourself. Spread the chicken breast out as flat as you can, between 2 pieces of parchment paper. Gentle pound (that’s an oxymoron if I ever read one) until its about ¼ inch thick. I say gentle, because if you start smashing it, you’ll just rip the chicken. I used a rolling pin before I got my kitchen Hammer.

Take about 2 tablespoons of the veggies and place into the centre of each flattened chicken breast. Spoon 1 tablespoon of goat cheese on top of veggies. Gently fold and secure with tooth picks.

Bake for 25-30 minutes. Serve over rice for your cabs.

One thought on “Goat Cheese and Veggie Stuffed Chicken

  1. haha well I had no idea it was bad form to discuss your fitness! I don’t think it’s bad at all!!

    And huge yay for goat cheese! I bet it goes so well with the veggies and chicken here!

Go ahead.. leave a comment

