Crazy Good Noodle Bowl(s)

Cold Asian Noodle Bowl-10

It’s no secret around here that I am in LOOOOVE with salad lately. So instead of calling this a salad, we’re calling it a bowl.

Cold Asian Noodle Bowl-2 I’m naming this a bowl for two reasons, one, because otherwise you might think I’m the crazy salad lady, and two, “Bowls” seem to be all the rage… like matcha powder.. Which by the way, I have finally tracked down and it didn’t cost me a billion dollars, but that’s another story.

Cold Asian Noodle Bowl-4

Back to this salad bowl. I was a little hesitant at first, I mean cold noodles… but um… seriously I could eat these cold all by themselves.  It’s probably a good idea to add all the other stuff though, cause otherwise you’re just some crazy person eating plain noodles. Unless that’s your thang.

Cold Asian Noodle Bowl-6

I do have to complain… I mean mention, this post was exceptionally hard to type.. I joined an insane boot camp and we did shoulders and arms… I’m barley able to lift my arms, I look like a penguin. My entire class is currently plotting the instructor’s demise.   Also it doesn’t help that I work with a bunch of 6 year olds, that insisted on squeezing my arms upon learning this info.

Cold Asian Noodle Bowl-7

I guess I’ll have to find someone to feed me this noodle bowl. Any takers?

Cold Asian Noodle Bowl

Crazy Good Noodle Bowl(s)

[Adapted from http://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/noodle-salad-with-chicken-and-chile-scallion-oil%5D
Spicy Oil
2 Green Onions, Sliced Thinly
2 Garlic Cloves, Sliced Thinly
2 Star Anise Pods (yup the whole pod)
2 Teaspoons of Black Peppercorns
1 Tablespoon of Red Pepper Flakes (you can add more, I’m a wimp)
½ Cup of Olive Oil
Noodle Bowl
6 oz of Somen Noodles (mine came conveniently portion controlled)
2 Tablespoons of Reduced Sodium Soya Sauce
2 Tablespoons of Rice Vinegar
2 Teaspoons of Agave Nectar (or Honey)
1 Teaspoon of Toasted Sesame Oil
1-2 Cups of Cooked Chicken (I used shredded mine)
2 Green Onions, Sliced Thinly
½ Cup of Cucumber Slices
2 Asparagus, Shaved (I used a Y-Peeler)
2 Carrots, Shaved (I used a Y-Peeler)
Handful of Chopped Parsley

To Make the Spicy Oil
Combine all the ingredients in a sealable container and place in the fridge. The longer it sits, the better is tastes.
To Assemble the Bowl
Cook the noodles, as per the package, and strain and run cold water over them. Through some olive oil on them so they don’t stick.. maybe a teaspoon or 2.
In an small bowl whisk soya sauce, rice vinegar, agave nectar, and sesame oil.
Place the cold noodles in a bowl (one big one, if you’re super hungry), toss in chicken, green onions, cucumbers, asparagus, and parsley. Add the wet ingredients from the small bowl and toss.
Drizzle the spicy oil, and top with parsley.

SOOO GOOD!

2 thoughts on “Crazy Good Noodle Bowl(s)

Go ahead.. leave a comment

