Lemon Zucchini Cookies

I’m so bored with my workouts!

 Lemon Zucchini Cookies-6

I have been (more or less) doing the same workouts for about 2-3 years.  I run almost everyday, and I have about 5-6 different workouts I rotate around, and even though I have added a few additions and adjustments… I’m just BORED.

 Lemon Zucchini Cookies-2

I recently changed my eating habits and noticed fantastic results (check out my clean eating challenge) so changing up my workouts is really just the next step.

 Lemon Zucchini Cookies-3

I did look into this cross fit thing. They are supposed to be 30% more effective in a 20 minute time frame, compared to a regular a 30 minute workout. The catch…… they ARE INSANE.  Kudos to all you cross fitters.  While I’m not ready to jump head first into a cross fit, I did sign up for a 4 week 2X’s a week boot camp. It has some cross fit in it, so I’ll consider it an introduction.

Lemon Zucchini Cookies-4

Over the years I have thought, I couldn’t do that workout, or I would never be that weight, or have those muscles, or even eat that healthy. Each time I have proven myself wrong. The only thing I regret is not doing it sooner. I know how cliché am I?   You never know unless you try… you only fail when you stop fighting…. be all you can be… oh wait , that’s the army.

Lemon Zucchini Cookies-5

Being healthy and fit is a priority in my life, but so are cookies… like my Segway?  These light and citrusy cookies are not that bad and they hit the spot! Plus there is zucchini in them, so they are practically a vegetable, right?

Lemon Zucchini Cookies

[Adapted from http://www.marthastewart.com/314971/lemon-zucchini-cornmeal-cookies]

1 Medium Zucchini, Grated
1 Cup of Whole Wheat Pastry Flour
½ Cup of FINE Cornmeal
½ Cup of Softened Unsalted Butter
1 Cup of Powdered Sugar
½ Teaspoon of Vanilla
2 Teaspoons of Lemon Zest
Pinch of Salt

Pre Heat oven to 325 degrees, an d line a cookie sheet with parchment paper, set aside.

Grate the zucchini and sit in a colander to allow the water to drip out. I squeezed mine to help it along, and patted it down with a paper towel.

In a small bowl, whisk flour and cornmeal, set aside.

In a large bowl, mix butter and sugar, until well blended. Stir in vanilla, lemon zest, and salt. Now add the flour and cornmeal. The mixture might be crumbly. Fold in the zucchini.

Drop tablespoons of the cookie dough on the parchment lines cookies sheet. Allow a bit of room for the cookies to spread. Bake for 25 minutes, or until the sides are slightly brown.

Allow to cool on a wire rack, on the cookie sheet for 10 minutes. Remove from cookie sheet and allow to cool completely directly on the wire rack.

2 thoughts on “Lemon Zucchini Cookies

  1. Lemon and zucchini sound like a fantastic combo for a cookie!

    I’ve been doing the online barre3 workouts – they’re a nice change from my normal routine!

Go ahead.. leave a comment

