Potato, Leek and Spinach Soup

potato leek and spinach soup-6

I know what you’re thinking…. Its spring, what’s with the soup?

 potato leek and spinach soup-2

This is completely inspired by the fact that I was sick last weekend, and I had NO soup in the house.   Me, no soup! I always have a bunch on soup stashed in my freezer.   At least 3 varieties!

 potato leek and spinach soup-3

Of course I am all sick and achy and not at all feeling like making anything.  Honestly I think I ended up eating cookies. That and crackers.

potato leek and spinach soup-4

I was however feeling a little better on Sunday, so I mustered up enough strength to throw together a batch of this soup. It’s actually quite easy and it freezes really well.

 potato leek and spinach soup-5

Moral of the story, always have soup on hand, you never know when sickness… or laziness will hit.

Potato, Leek and Spinach Salad

[Adapted from Ricardo winter 2015 Magazine]

1 Leek, White Part Only, Sliced Thin
2 Tablespoons Of Butter
1 Tablespoon of Turmeric
8-10 Small White Potatoes, Cut into Quarters
½ Cup of White Wine
5 Cups of Chicken Broth, Low/No Sodium
1 Tablespoon of Honey
1 Cup of Corn
2 Cups of Fresh Baby Spinach
5-6 Slices of Bacon, Cook, and Crumbled
1 Green Onion, Chopped

In a large pot over medium heat, melt the butter, add the leeks, and cook until softened, about 5 minutes. Add the turmeric, and the cut up potatoes, cook for 1 minute. Add in the wine, and cook for 5 more minutes.

Pour in the Chicken broth, and bring to a simmer. Cover and cook for 25 minutes, or until potatoes are tender. Throw in the corn and spinach, salt and pepper to taste. Heat for 2 -3 more minutes.

Serve hot, and top with bacon and green onions.

2 thoughts on “Potato, Leek and Spinach Soup

  1. Oh man, I hope you’re feeling better! And I agree – I love to always have soup in the freezer for emergencies! This looks delicious – plus, I am definitely one of those people who can eat soup pretty much any time of the year!

Go ahead.. leave a comment

