Kitchen Sink Pizza

A friend recently asked me quite possibly THE most important question about my blog. Where is the BACON?!?

Kitchen Sink Pizza-6

They were right, I mean they ARE right. Where is the BACON on this blog! And can I use more exclamation marks… let’s find out!

Kitchen Sink Pizza-2
Despite the lack of bacon here , I really do love bacon! I mean really, who doesn’t love bacon, other than crazy people. I am however am not referring to people who choose to discount it from their diet do to religious beliefs. ( a girl has to be politically correct)

Kitchen Sink Pizza-3
I’ll let you in on a little crazy secret, and I do mean crazy! Years ago, I gave up all forms of pork! Even BACON, I know! Please don’t hate me. It wasn’t even for religion.

Kitchen Sink Pizza-4

I regained my sanity some years later and Bacon was the first pork related food back on my plate. I have never looked back. Even throughout this clean eating fiasco, bacon has stayed!

Kitchen Sink Pizza-5

Let’s face it people, bacon is awesome! It resolves conflicts, creates peace, and saves the world from….. ok maybe I’m stretching it. But I believe it has it place in the food world, and it goes on everything.

Kitchen Sink Pizza-7
You’re soufflé looking a little flat, but bacon on it! Your cookies taste like dirt, put bacon on them!, you’re cleaning out your fridge and making a pizza, and even though you have a million ingredients on said pizza, there is something missing…. Put BACON on it!

Kitchen Sink Pizza-9
I dedicate this kitchen sink pizza (with bacon on it) to my dear friend who pointed out I was neglecting the most important food group of all, BACON!

Kitchen Sink Pizza-8
Seriously, I’m pretty sure my kitchen sink is somewhere on this pizza… let me know if you spot it! And I managed to use 12 exclamation marks! 13…

Kitchen Sink Pizza
Your Favorite Pizza Dough (My sister sent me a great one, I’ll post it soon)

Pizza Sauce or Tomato Puree
¼ Cup of Corn
½ Cup of Arugula
½ Cup of shredded cheese ( I used a mixture of mozzarella and cheddar)
Shredded chicken
2 Tablespoons of pureed tomatoes
Half a zucchini, sliced thinly
3-4 thinly sliced pieces of red onion
2-4 tablespoons of Goat Cheese
3-4 thinly sliced tomato
As Much Bacon as you want

Pre-Heat your oven to 500 degrees (you heard me! 500!)  Place your pizza stone in the oven to get it nice hot. If you don’t have a pizza stone, then lower the oven heat to 450 degrees.

Roll out your pizza dough as thin or thick as you want on a parchment paper.  I like to start with the pizza sauce (or tomato paste), then I like to put 1/2 cup of cheese (you can use more), then I put all my toppings on, including the bacon.  I then like to crumble goat cheese and 1/4 cup more of shredded cheese.

If your using a pizza stone, place your parchment paper with the pizza on top on the back of a cookie sheet, and gently slide the pizza (parchment and all) onto the pizza stone.  Or just leave it on a cookie sheet.

Bake for 10 minutes, or until the top and bottom are brown.  If using a cookie sheet, and the oven is at 450, I’de bake it for 15 – 20 minutes.

Enjoy!

Go ahead.. leave a comment

