Minestrone (All Cleaned Up)

Minestrone_-4So we’re back from Hawaii….. I don’t really have anything else to say about that. It would be way more exciting of a topic if I was telling you I was leaving for Hawaii… again, but alas, I am home and I have no plans to go back anytime soon.

 Minestrone_-2

Don’t get me wrong, it was amazing,!  Gorgeous weather, sandy beaches, cold drinks… but 12 hours on a plane… that’s not something you forget overnight, or in a a year… or 2.

 Minestrone_

I was sad to leave, but also very happy to get home and see my puppies, sleep in my bed, and cook in my own kitchen.  Mostly to COOK IN MY OWN kitchen.  Sorry to yell that at you.  I just really missed MY kitchen.

 Minestrone_-5

The first thing that I whipped up was this yummy minestrone.  The best part, not only is it yummy, but its clean. Yes I’m still on the clean wagon…. Opposed to the dirty wagon?   It’s a thing, the clean wagon, not the dirty wagon.  Although I’m sure there is such a thing as…… never mind.   If you feel like checking out the insanity that is my new “Clean” eating, check out the menu at the top.

Minestrone_-6

In the mean time, make soup. Make this soup.  I say that in the most non-bossy was possible.  🙂

Minestrone (Cleaned Up)

[Adapted From http://www.edibleperspective.com/home/2014/12/28/minestrone-soup-with-collard-greens-black-eyed-peas.html?rq=Minestrone]

1-2 Tablespoon of Olive Oil
1 Medium Onion, Chopped
4-5 Medium Carrots, Sliced Thin
2 Teaspoons of Garlic Chopped
1 Tablespoon of Italian Seasoning
5 Cups of Chicken Broth
1 28 Ounce Can of Crushed Tomato (Sodium Free)
1 15 Ounce Can of Seasoned Diced Tomato (I Used Italian Seasoning)
1 15 Ounce Can of Chickpeas, peeled
2 Cups of Chopped Kale
¾ Cup of Brown Rice Macaroni
Pinch of Salt and Pepper

Heat oil in a medium pot over medium heat. Once oil is heated (about 1 minute), toss in onions with a pinch of salt, and sauté until translucent (about 5 minutes). Add carrots, and cook for 5-10 minutes, or until softened. Add garlic and Italian seasoning.

Add broth, tomato and a pinch of pepper. Bring to a boil. Cover and reduce to a simmer for 20 minutes.

While the soup simmers, drain and rinse the chickpeas. Now peel them. This will take the next 15 minutes. Seriously! If someone knows how to speed up this process, PLEASE TELL ME.

Toss in chickpeas, kale and macaroni. Cook for 15 more minutes, or until pasta is cooked.

Spoon into a bowl and throw some freshly grated Parmesan cheese on it.

7 thoughts on “Minestrone (All Cleaned Up)

  1. We’re preparing for a week of rainy spring weather so this post is perfectly timed. I’m feeling the soup itch. Also my husband would die at the idea of 12 hours on a plane. Personally I can sit forever on a plane and be pretty content — it’s like you’re forced to do nothing but relax and nap, read or listen to music. If only there was more leg room, I’d be set for days!

  2. Long planes rides – I hate them! Makes me not want to go places far away! haha

    This minestrone sounds wonderful – it’s one of my very favorite soups!

  3. Pingback: Minestrone (All Cleaned Up) | homethoughtsfromabroad626

Go ahead.. leave a comment

