Maple Coconut Oats

Coconut Maple Oats-5

As soon as I saw this, I wanted to make it. So much so, that I was so disappointed to realizethat I didn’t have any un-sweetened coconut flakes. You see we live just out of the city, so taking a 30 minutes drive into the city for coconut flakes, isn’t really logical….and I almost did it.

Coconut Maple Oats

So I waited until the next day, and on my lunch break I went to my local bulk place to look for un-sweetened coconut flakes…. But for some reason the flakes looked…. Small and inadequate. Who wants small and inadequate flakes…. NOT me.

Coconut Maple Oats-2

I ended up going to 3 separate stores, until I wandered into a health food store, and found them!!! Except they were called coconut chips.  So note to all you Canadians… we call coconut flakes, chips.

Coconut Maple Oats-6

Since it took me the better part of the week and almost all my lunch hours, I was determined to make this.

Coconut Maple Oats-4

Early on a Sunday morning, I went to work and made the most flavorful wonderful oatmeal I have every eaten. Seriously, if you’re and oatmeal lover, or even of your not.. you need to make this. Even if it takes you all week to find coconut flakes… or chips, or whatever you want to call them… just make sure they are big and adequate.

Coconut Maple Oats-3

I’m still in Hawaii….in case you’re wondering!

Maple Coconut Oatmeal

[Adapted from http://notwithoutsalt.com/toasty-oats-coconut/]

4 Tablespoons of Butter
2 Cups of large Flaked Oats
1/3 Cup of Coconut Flakes (or chips)
¼ Cup of Pure Maple Sugar
1 Teaspoon of Vanilla
Pinch of Salt
2 Cups of Milk

In a medium sauce pan, melt butter over medium heat, and allow to brown. This will be obvious, it will turn a rich brown color and smell like heaven, stir frequently. Add the oats, and cook oats until all the butter is absorbed, and the oats are starting to brown a bit. Add the coconut flakes.

Stir in the maple syrup, vanilla and salt. Cook for 1 minute, stirring the whole time. Slowly add the milk ¼ cup at a time, allowing the milk to absorb between each addition.

When you get the last ½ cup, you don’t need to let all of it absorb, you want it a little milky.

Server warm, with a little maple and toasted coconut.

One thought on “Maple Coconut Oats

Go ahead.. leave a comment

