Affogato – Coffee Covered Ice Dream

Affogato-4

A couple of weeks ago, I hosted an authentic Irish dinner. Guinness stew, with Irish soda bread. My problem was, I couldn’t find an Irish dessert I wanted to serve.

Affogato-2

I was trolling around chef John’s site for something different, but easy, when I stumbled onto his thing called affagato.

Affogato

I had no idea what that was, but I watched his how to video, cause he’s so funny, and even though it was Italian, it looked and sounded delicious.

Affogato-7

I was on the phone with my sister a couple of days before the dinner, and I had forgotten what the name of it was, so I just described it, and with her being a fancy foodie and stuff, she knew right away I was describing affagato. She encouraged me to make it, which in my books is a green light.

Affogato-5

O M G, yup I used O M G.   It was better than delicious. I wanted to go back for seconds. It kind of tasted like a frappuccino. (I went back for seconds… maybe thirds)

Affogato

[Adapted from http://foodwishes.blogspot.ca/2012/07/affogato-and-black-magic-of-cold-brewed.html%5D

Cold Coffee Concentrate

3 Cups of Cold Water
2/3 Cup of Fresh Ground Coffee (like for French press)

Affogato

Couple of Scoops of Vanilla Ice Cream
Cold Coffee Concentrate
Shaved Chocolate Pieces

12 Hours before you want to server the affogato, put the coffee in a large bowl, and pour cold water over top. Give it a stir, cover and let it sit for 12 hours.

When you’re ready to server, scoop ice cream into bowls, pour a couple tablespoons of coffee concentrate over the ice cream and sprinkle shaved chocolate over top… THAT’S IT.

2 thoughts on “Affogato – Coffee Covered Ice Dream

Go ahead.. leave a comment

