Clean Eating Challenge; Week 11 and 12

Vintage-Hawaii-Ad

A few thoughts on this being “clean”.  This has been a great journey so far, and with Hawaii around the corner (2 Days!)  it was worth it!  I jotted down a few things about my healthy lifestyle journey so far.  I can see a difference, but more importantly I FEEL a difference.

Avocado-Pear Salad with Italian Dressing-5

I have come a long way from grade 8 track team. Which was the only athletic thing I ever did as a kid. As I moved into high school, I traded in my one time running career for hanging with friends and eating whatever I wanted. There was this on 2 week stretch that I was working at the mall and I ate a whopper every day for 2 weeks, it got to the point where I would have exact change, and the employees would see me coming and hand over the burger, no line required (I would skip the line) Why I never dropped dead of a heart attach..I don’t know

Youth, IT DOESN’T LAST.

book

I always wanted to be fit, but I never really felt like I had to , physically I was always thin.  I think it was somewhere in my early to mid 20’s  when I noticed a few things happening, that go along with aging.

  • Injured my back, and it wasn’t getting better
  • My stomach was in bad shape.  I felt like every second meal would actually cause me physical pain
  • Oh and all of a sudden I was fat, and no one told me

Like I said I really wanted to get healthy but I didn’t know where to start.  I had never been on any sports team, and I had never really had the need to “eat” healthy.  Like i said, I was always (until this point) naturally thin.  So i took a couple of running classes (yes they exist), I started some core training for my back  and I also went to a nutritionist.

lately, I have had a few epiphanies;

  • I can survive without sugar
  • I need to feed my body like an athlete, because apparently….. I am
  • I don’t need to be a perfectionist in my workouts (although I come pretty darn close)

And last but not least… my stepdaughter asked me recently “how long are you doing this for” I was just about to answer “3 months”, when I stopped and realized, I’m liking how I feel and look… so I answered. “forever”. Seriously guys, FOREVER.

organize

I realize that I sound crazy to some of you.. for example, the other day I suggested to a friend she should give up sugar, she looked at me like I had 3 heads, called me crazy and walked away. Funny thing, I would have, and did say the same thing just a few months ago. This just seems to be working for me. I still like to indulge (hence my once a week cheat meal), and I still love to bake.  You don’t need to starve or deprive yourself.  Its,as they say, everything in moderation.

fuelband

It took me several years and several different challenges to get to this point. My only regret, I wish I had done it sooner.

Go ahead.. leave a comment

