French Bread (For Real)

French Bread-6

I’d like to take a quick break from clean eating, to share with you the one food group, (yes I consider it a food group) BREAD. Let’s be honest, no one can resist the smell of fresh from the oven bread. It intoxicating,

French Bread

When I was visiting my sister out west, I was treated to some of the most amazing bread. Seriously, she makes some pretty awesome bread.   Bagels, buns, and she even make French bread. You know the kind, crusty on the outside, until you cut into it, and it’s all soft and spongy.

French Bread-2

I was so inspired that when I arrived home I googled, “how to make French bread at home”. I came across what is now one of my favorite sites.

French Bread-3

His name is chef john, and he is hilarious! When I say hilarious, I mean he is very PUNNY. Huh? Huh? Get it? Or course you do, I’m lucky if your still reading, if you are, you can just skip to the recipe.

French Bread-5

His quick wit and easy instructions make some of the most difficult recipes a breeze.  I’m not even joking. He actually makes baked Alaska, with a butane BBQ lighter…. Did I mention he’s Punny? Sorry I did it again….

French Bread-7

Just ignore me and make the bread

French Bread-8

French Bread

[Adapted by http://foodwishes.blogspot.ca/2013/10/perfect-french-baguette-at-home-only.html ]

¼ Teaspoon of Active Dry Yeast
1 ½ Cups of Water
1 ¾ Teaspoons of Salt
4 Cups of Flour

**Note: These instructions are my rough version. You need to Chef Johns site and watch the video. It really helps.

***Note2: This recipe can take 12 -14 hours.

Spray a large bowl with non-stick spray, set aside.

In another large bowl add yeast and water, and stir until dissolved, add the salt, then mix in all the flour. Stirring with a wooden spoon until it comes together. It will be super thick and sticky.

Gather it into a ball and place in the greased bowl from earlier. Cover with plastic and let rise for 12-14 hours, or double in size.

Once its double in size, tip the bowl onto a floured surface, and cut into 2 or four (idid 2), and shape into long baguette shapes, by rolling the dough between your hands.

Place the newly shaped baguettes onto a baking sheet, and cover loosely with plastic wrap and a dish cloth. Let this sit for about an hour.

Now the magic! Heat your oven to 550 degrees. You read that right. Fill a deep pan with water and place it in the oven. This will create humidity, which gives the bread that crispy outside.

While the oven is heating up and creating a bit of humidity, take a pair of kitchen scissors and cut slits in the top of the bread, making sure to push down any peaks the scissors have created. Give the loafs a quick spray with water… lightly.

Now you can pop the bread in the oven for 15 minutes or until golden brown. Give the bread a quick spray with water every 5 minutes, until 15 minutes are up.

One thought on “French Bread (For Real)

Go ahead.. leave a comment

