Clean Eating Challenge; Week 9 and 10

We are entering the home stretch people. The journey so far has been an eye opening and enlightening experience. I always thought you healthy clean eaters were crazy, now I’m one of you … so does that make me crazier?!

fuelband

I chatted a bit about my workouts last week. So this week I thought I would chat to you about another really important part of working out. INJURY and RECOVERY.

I was lucky for the first 5-10 years of my running career.. (can I call it a career?)   I had absolutely not injuries or chronic pain of any type.   Heck, I didn’t even stretch. If anything my running and cross training helped me heal some cronic injuries. I actually started running an core training because of a chronic lower back injury. Now that I think of it, I started eating healthier because of a chronic stomach ailment…. But I digress

10 years rolled by without incident. Then when one day, while I was out for my daily 5 km run, it hit me!  This nagging pain in my left knee. So much so, that I had to stop running. For those of you who run on a regular basis, you know it had to hurt for me to STOP running.   I tried to ease off running a bit, I even started interval running (2 mins run, 1 min walk… ) but it just wasn’t getting better.   After a couple of weeks of complaining I must be to old to run, I sucked it up and visited 1 physio therapist, 1 message therapist and running coach. Yup, it took all 3 professionals to discover my hips are uneven! Oh, and I had a weak ass. Ya I said it.

equipment

It was suggested that I start stretching 5-10 mins after every workout and to increase my glute exercises in order to support my uneven hips. I also had to ease back into everything, really really slowly. It took almost 1 year to be back on track. Even to this day I still struggle with this injury and I imagine that I always will.

I guess the point I’m trying to make here, is know your pain limits. We are all guilty of running or working through pain, just so we can get that last mile in, of finish off our 30 min cross fit program. Its not worth it, especially if it means we have to take a long hiatus from exercise, or even worse, quit altogether.

shoes

I do not pretend to be at the level of some of the athletes I know, but even with the stuff I do, you can still sustain an injury. Working out is awesome, and can keep you healthy, just remember to listen to your body and give it rest when it needs it, know when to retire your running/cross fit shoes, get a massage, foam role and stretch! Be nice to your body and it will be nice to you.

5 thoughts on “Clean Eating Challenge; Week 9 and 10

  1. interesting read. and no you’re not crazy haha , I used to think those people were crazy as well! healthy?? what is that? I get the unhealthiest thing when it came to eating outside, talk about ice cream milkshakes and cheesy fries! ahaha! love your blog! 🙂 xx

  2. haha I love this! Clean eating is the way to go …. with some treats every now and then 🙂

    Injuries are no fun – I have had this weird toe injury for almost a year now and have had to back off some of my normal workouts – but I’m finally in a place where I can start getting back to normal. Gradually!!

Go ahead.. leave a comment

