Sweet Potato Brownies

Sweet Potato Brownies-5

I’m having one of those days, for the last couple of days. You know the ones? Right? At every turn something either goes wrong, or breaks, or spills, or… you get the picture

 Sweet Potato Brownies

Take yesterday; I’m prepping salad dressing for dinner. I have carefully added all the ingredients into my salad dressing bottle, I screw on the top and give it shake. Not a sissy, back and forth shake, I real vigorous shake. Dressing EVERYWHERE!!!, My trusty lid, has a pop top, it wasn’t closed.

 Sweet Potato Brownies-3

I clean that up, stroll out to the garage to let Mr.PBandO know its dinner, and grab an iced tea. I hit my head opening the door (yes I opened the door and hit MYSELF in the head), drop the can of iced tea, which when I pick it up, now has a small hole in it, and it sprays me right in the face.

 Sweet Potato Brownies-2

Then I woke up this morning with a huge charlie horse, or should I say flew out of bed with a charlie horse. I don’t have to tell you how much that hurts. Get to work, and 2 of the environments go down (shout out to my colleges who made it all better)

Sweet Potato Brownies-4

Get home, just about to start dinner, when I drop completely full jar of the LAST of my red pepper flakes on the floor and it shatters. I proceed to clean all of shattered glass up, find a new spice to cook with, and step in the only piece I didn’t clean up. Then I spent about 20 minutes, taking said piece of glass out of the bottom of my foot.

Sweet Potato Brownies-7

At this point, all I can do is laugh… and eat brownies. These brownies!

Sweet Potato Brownies

[Adapted from http://laurasmess.me/2015/01/15/sweet-potato-and-cacao-brownies/%5D

4 Cups of Cooked Mashed Potato
¼ Cup Coconut Oil, Melted Then Measured
2 Eggs
1 Teaspoon of Vanilla
1/3 Cup of Honey
3 Tablespoons of Coconut Flour
½ Cup of Cacao Powder
1 Teaspoon of Baking Powder
½ Cup Chopped 85% (or higher) Chocolate

Peel and cut up 3-4 medium sweet potatoes, and place in a pot filled with water. Bring water to a boil and turn down the heat medium and let simmer for 15 mins., or until the sweet potato is tender when poked with a fork. Drain the water out. Using a hand blender, whip the sweet potatoes for 20 seconds, don’t over whip. Set aside and allow to cool for 15 minutes.

While the sweet potato is cooling, pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees, and line an 8×8 pan with parchment paper, so it hangs over the edge.

Melt coconut oil (I did mine in the microwave) and measure out ¼ cup. Place the melted coconut oil, eggs and vanilla in a medium bowl and whisk until eggs are slightly beaten. Mix in the rest of the ingredients, along with the cooled sweet potato. Mix until just blended.

Pour into the prepared pan. Do this slowly and spread it out with the back of a spoon or a cake spatula.

Bake for 45 minutes.

Remove from oven and place on a cooling rack.

NOTE: I placed these in the fridge for an hour and they tasted so much better than at room temperature.

4 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Brownies

  1. Oh gosh! What a few days! I so know those kind of days!

    But brownies are a great way to make it all better! Love this with the sweet potato (my favorite!)

  2. Pingback: Monthly Things; March Edition | PeanutButter and Onion

Go ahead.. leave a comment

