Salmon With Dill Sauce over Carrots and Rice

Salmon and Dill Sauce-8

I hated salmon growing up.  Actually I hated all fish; they just seem to taste fishy!?

Salmon and Dill Sauce

It’s funny how we hang on to old ideas of food from our childhood.  Even in my 20’s, I was all like “I don’t like fish”.  Then one day I was reading about how salmon had all these great properties, omega 3, low in fat, so I decided to give it another chance.

 Salmon and Dill Sauce-5

Guess what, turns out I don’t hate salmon, or fish for that matter.  I wasted all that time avoiding something my 8 year old self-proclaimed to hate, all those years ago.

 Salmon and Dill Sauce-3

Since then I have been re-trying things that I supposedly hate.  Even today I find I’m rediscovering foods that I “hate”.   Quite recently (like a month ago) we were sitting at our favorite Italian restaurant, starving!!!!  All they had on the table was bread (not clean) and these little black olives.  I “hate” olives.  Remember I was starving, so I ate one, 10 olives later… I don’t hate them.

 Salmon and Dill Sauce-2

SO the next time you catch yourself proclaiming you hate a certain food, stop and think why you’re saying that.  And unless the site or smell or a recent encounter has you gaging, try it again, you may actually love it.

Salmon and Dill Sauce-7

And if you’re not sure (like I was about salmon) put a yummy sauce all over it!

 Salmon and Dill Sauce-6

Rice and Carrots

1 Cup of Brown Basmati Rice
1 Cup of low (or no) Sodium Chicken Broth
2 Cups of Cut up Carrots

Sauce

1/3 Cup of Sour Cream
2 Tablespoons of Agave Nectar (or Maple Syrup)
1 Tablespoon of Mustard
1 Tablespoon of Lemon Juice
1 Teaspoon of Lemon Zest
1 Teaspoon of Dill (dried)

Salmon

4 6ounce Salmon Fillets
½ Teaspoon of Salt and Pepper

 

In a medium pot, bring to boil the chicken stock and ½ cup of water.  Add rice and carrots.  Cook for 40 minutes.

Meanwhile, in a small bowl whisk all the sauce ingredients together, and place in the fridge until salmon is dead.

When there is 15b minutes left on the rice, grease a baking sheet, set aside.  Pat dry the salmon, and sprinkle with the salt and pepper. Place on the prepared baking sheet.  Set the oven to broiler.  Place the salmon about 6 inches from the top of the oven and bake 8 minutes, flipping half way through.

Serve over rice and drizzle the sauce on top… or put a big blob on your fish like I did.

3 thoughts on “Salmon With Dill Sauce over Carrots and Rice

  1. Salmon is definitely my husband’s favourite. He would adore this! I’m not a massive fan of rice but I’d definitely drink that dill sauce from the dish (I’ve become obsessed with it after visiting Sweden!). Great recipe!

Go ahead.. leave a comment

