Clean Eating Challenge: Week 5 and 6

granola

Still going strong!……ish.  

I think I finally adjusted to the lack of sugar in my coffee.  You have to understand this is was a huge sacrifice.  I loved my 6 teaspoons of sugar in my coffee.  I will say this, I’m a little pickier with my coffee.  I heard, (and ignored in the past) that to truly enjoy a good coffee, you’re not supposed to add anything to it.  I’m half way there, I still enjoy a bit of milk/cream. 

coffee

How I’m feeling, and what I’ve learned.

I’m feeling pretty good.  I mentioned that in week 3and 4 that I was struggling a bit.  I chalked it up to not taking advantage of my cheat meals.  It helps a lot, but I’m missing the simplicity of my junk food.  That’s why planning is key.    I’m also noticing a difference in my abs.  Like I have them, or like I always did, but now I can see them.  And I like to say like… a lot.

Pre-minced garlic is not clean!  I guess this is not a shocking revelation, but I was using up until week 5.  I’ve been reading a lot of labels lately, but it never occurred to me to read my insanely large jar of minced garlic label.  I was making a batch of this salad dressing and it occurred to n=me, that a jar that big has to have something in it to make it fresh for so long.  YUP, one more thing I have to do by hand.

garlic

What do I eat.  If my blog is any indication, all I eat is soup and doughnuts

Snacks

  • Red pepper
  • Cucumber
  • Celery with hummus
  • Pears with almond butter
  • Greek yogurt
  • Frozen fruit (fav blueberries)
  • Oatmeal (plain with fruit)
  • Oranges ( when Mr. PB and O peals them)
  • Apple slices (need to eat this more)
  • Almonds or pistachios you can eat 2X pistachios
  • POPCORN
  • Cottage Cheese

Breakfasts

  • Granola bars (homemade)
  • Frozen Fruit with Greek yogurt
  • Plain Oatmeal with fruit
  • Hard Boiled eggs

Simple Lunches and Dinners

  • Avocado toast (ala Jessica’s cookbook)
  • Cocoanut brown basmati rice and mangos
  • Ricotta cheese on whole grain toast with roasted cherry tomatoes
  • Scrambled eggs with cheese, on whole grain toast with roasted asparagus and cherry tomatoes
  • Sweet Potato shepherd’s pie with ground turkey
  • Lots and lots of salads, usually topped with chicken, goat cheese, pecans, cucumber, and red peppers.

Going forward.

I’m feeling pretty good about my food choices, and my portions.  I have been concentrating on healthy replacements for my junk food.  This is a good thing, I mean when I girl needs a cookie, she needs a cookie, so having fresh baked “clean” cookies and no preservative chip options are a must.  But I need to remember that fruits and veggies and healthy fats and proteins, curb hunger as well.

4 thoughts on “Clean Eating Challenge: Week 5 and 6

  1. I’ve been trying to work on cutting down what I put in my coffee but it is sooooo hard. I love having a little half and half and some coconut sugar in mine … I’m not sure if I can get rid of them completely!!

Go ahead.. leave a comment

