Inside-Out Peanut Butter Cups

Inside-out Peanutbutter Cups-8

Here they are! I posted a picture of these little beauties on Facebook and Instagram, and have had a few requests for the recipe.

Inside-out Peanutbutter Cups

These have saved my life! Or someone else’s life. When I was on the brink of despair and jonesing (do people still say that) for something sweet, I just reached for one of these, and crisis averted.

Inside-out Peanutbutter Cups-3

Don’t get me wrong these are not as healthy as an orange but sometimes an orange just doesn’t cut it. Besides, I would have to find someone to peel the orange for me (I HATE the smell of orange peels ). MR.PBandO isn’t always around, and with the dogs not having opposable thumbs and all, they are kind of useless in that department.

Inside-out Peanutbutter Cups-2

This made 10 peanut butter cups, and I cut them into quarters and put them in a container in the freezer (as per Ashley’s suggestion). That’s 40 pieces of deliciousness!

Inside-out Peanutbutter Cups-6

Side note; I gave one to Mr.PBandO, and you’d think I fed him rotten dirt. Don’t take his word for it though, they are awesome. They are actually really sweet (hello dates, natures sugar!), so I don’t find I want more that ½ of one at a time. They hit the spot and cure my sweet tooth.

Inside-Out Peanut Butter Cups

[Adapted from http://www.edibleperspective.com/home/2014/4/14/5-ingredient-inside-out-peanut-butter-cups.html%5D

1 Cup of Creamy Natural Peanut Butter
½ of Coconut Oil
3 Tablespoons of Palm Sugar, Sifted (Coconut Sugar)
10 Medjool Dates, Soaked, Pitted and Chopped
2 Tablespoons Cocoa Powder

Line 10 -12 muffin tins with large paper liners, set aside. In a medium bowl, soak dates for 15-20 minutes. This helps to not break you food processor, or mini chopper, unless you have invested in a kick ass food processor.

While the dates are a soakin, heat the peanut butter and coconut oil in a small sauce pan.   Once heated through, remove from the heat.   Spoon the melted peanut butter into the lined muffin tins, to about ¼ of the way. Place in the freezer for 10-15 minutes, or until its pretty solid.

While the peanut butter is in the freezer,drain your dates, and pit and chop them. Place them in a chopper, or food processor, along with the cocoa powder, and pulse, until it forms a paste.   I had to scrap down the sides a few times.

Remove the muffin tins from the freezer.   Take about a teaspoon of the date mixture, and flatten it into a disc shape, place on top of the hardened peanut butter (this part was messy). There should be about a 1/8-1/4 of an inch of peanut butter still showing. Spoon the heated peanut butter ( I hate to re-heat mine a bit) over top the dates, until its just covered. Pop back into the freezer for about 20 mins.

Ashley suggested cutting them into ¼ pieces and keeping them in a container in the freezer. I did this, and they have been an awesome sweet treat to pop I my mouth, when I have a craving. You should keep them in the freezer regardless, or they will melt.

6 thoughts on “Inside-Out Peanut Butter Cups

  1. I love using dates! These look sooo good. I can totally see how they would give that sweet fix … which is exactly what I need pretty much every day after dinner 🙂

Go ahead.. leave a comment

