Avocado and Pear Salad with Italian Dressing

Avocado-Pear Salad with Italian Dressing-4

I just had one of those amazing winter wonderland walks. You know the ones. The temperature is just below freezing, the snow is falling really slow, and you have this incredible urge to jump in the snow and make a snow angel.

Avocado-Pear Salad with Italian Dressing

I haven’t had one of those walks at all this year.   It’s been too darn cold. I know , I know, I live in Ottawa and it is Winter. But sometimes a girl needs some good winter walking weather.

Avocado-Pear Salad with Italian Dressing-3

It totally reminded me when I would go out for a walk with my dog Earnie, and I’d bring my magic carpet, just in case there was no one on the local sled hill. If I was lucky and there was no one around, I would jump on my crazy carpet and fly down the hill, with Earnie in tow, barking and hopping around me the whole way down. It’s no wonder I didn’t run him over.

Avocado-Pear Salad with Italian Dressing-2

Then I’d see the neighborhood kids approaching, and I’d continue on my walk. You might be wondering why I was “hiding” my sledding adventures. It might have something to do with the fact that I was 25.

Avocado-Pear Salad with Italian Dressing-5

Alas there are no good sledding hills around me these days, so I’ll have to settle for a few snow angels.

Avocado-Pear Salad with Italian Dressing-6

Oh ya, and here is the most amazing salad I’ve been devouring lately. I actually don’t like salad, but this one I can’t get enough of. This dressing is now my favorite. I had to make my own since the store bought isn’t “Clean” and I was surprised how easy it was to throw together.

 

Italian Dressing

6 Tablespoons of olive Oil
4 Tablespoons of Red Wine Vinegar
1 teaspoon of Minced Garlic
2 Teaspoons of Mustard
2 Teaspoons of Honey
1 Teaspoon of Italian Seasoning ( I used Club House)
¼ Teaspoon of Crushed Red Pepper Flakes
½ Teaspoons Each of Salt and Pepper

In a re-sealable container, add all the ingredients and shake before using. That’s it! Put in an air tight container in the fridge, for 5 days.

Avocado Pear Salad

1 Ripe Avocado
1 Ripe Pear
6 Cups of Mixed Greens
¼ Cup of Dried Cranberries
¼ Cup of Chopped Pecans
2-4 Tablespoons of Goat Cheese, Crumbled

Add mixed greens into a large salad bowl. Cut up the avocado and pear into bite size pieces, and sprinkle over mixed greens. Top with pecans, cranberries, and goat cheese. Drizzle homemade Italian dressing on top, mix and server!

2 thoughts on “Avocado and Pear Salad with Italian Dressing

Go ahead.. leave a comment

