Maple Doughnuts – Gluten Free

Maple Doughnuts-7

I’ve decided to skip my weekly update of my clean eating challenge this week. I mean really, how much can you really listen to me go on and on about my super crazy, healthy eating challenge. I figured I’d combine week 3 and 4 updates next week.

Maple Doughnuts-3

It’s not that I don’t have anything to tell you, It’s just my motivation has hit a wall. I was totally anticipating this. If I’m anything its self-aware, and when I decided to “eat clean”, I knew myself well enough to know I’d start getting cranky around week 3-4. Years ago I saw a nutritionist about my IBS. I was so excited to try out every piece of advice she had for me. She asked me to give up Dairy, wheat and sugar. So I did, ALL AT ONCE. By the end of week 3, I found myself standing in the grocery store wondering what the hell to buy, and wanting to cry.

Maple Doughnuts-2

Motivation is a powerful thing, but perseverance is what gets us through. I learned a few valuable lessons that day melting down in the middle of the grocery store.

Maple Doughnuts-6

Here are a few simple things I do to keep me going

  • Allow yourself a cheat meal, once a week. Even if you don’t think you need it! Trust me all of sudden you’re in the drive through at McDonalds ordering 10 happy meals. I find if you allow yourself to indulge, you tend not to overdo it.
  • Plan the hell out of your food. Seriously! I prep all my snacks and some meals on the weekend. It helps me get past those days I just want to eat cookies for dinner. If I have a few already prepared meals, all I have to do is pop them in the oven. Also if all my snacks are portioned out, it’s less work. DON’T give yourself excuses to give up.
  • This goes with point 2. When you’re planning your meals and snacks, have options. One day have a pear with almond butter, the next day, red pepper slices with cottage cheese. Have fun with it, seriously! Try something you’ve never tried. The internet is your friend in this department.
  • Warn tell your friends and family what you’re doing. People tend to be a little more understanding when you bite their head off, when they know you’ve been starving eating healthier. They want you to succeed (or at least they should).
  • You will see results. When I first started eating healthy a few years back, it was tough to stay motivated, and push past those days you just want to give up.   But I finally got there, and guess what, I looked and felt better.
  • You can make almost anything into a habit. For me it takes 6 weeks, you may be different. I replaced sugar with fruit in my oatmeal. After 6 weeks it didn’t taste so much like warm cardboard anymore, and I have never looked back.

Maple Doughnuts-4

I am no Jillian Michaels, and eating healthy can be challenging. I have fallen off the wagon/horse a thousand times. The important thing is, I keep getting on. It doesn’t make me a failure, it makes me human. Funny thing is….. it gets easier every time I climb back up.

Maple Doughnuts-8

Enough of my motivational blabber, make these! These are another wonderful recipe from Ashley’s Book, “Baked Doughnuts for Everyone” Its technically a cheat meal, but only if you put the glaze on them… totally worth it.

Maple Doughnuts-9

[Adapted from Ashley’s Awesome book!!!]

Maple Doughnuts – Gluten Free

½ Cup of Oat Flour
½ Cup of Sweet Rice Flour
3 Tablespoons of Ground Almond
2 Tablespoons of Cane Sugar
1 Teaspoon of Baking Powder
½ Teaspoon of Salt
¼ Teaspoon of Cinnamon
2 Eggs
1/3 Cup of Milk
1/3 Cup of Unsweetened Apple Sauce
3 ½ Tablespoons of Maple Syrup
2 Tablespoons of Olive Oil
2 Teaspoons of Vanilla

Maple Glaze

1 Cup of Powdered Sugar
¼ Cup of Maple Syrup
2 Tablespoons of Milk (maybe 1 more tablespoon)

Pre-Heat the oven to 350 degrees, and grease your doughnut pan, set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk the oat and sweet rice flour with the ground almond, cane sugar, baking powder, salt and cinnamon. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk eggs, milk, apple sauce, maple syrup, olive oil, and vanilla. Fold the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients. Be careful not to over mix the batter. It’s just like muffin mix, if you over mix it, they will be tough.

Spoon batter until there is ¼ inch of space at the top of the doughnut mold. Bake for 22 minutes, or until golden brown. Allow to cool in the doughnut pan on a wire rack for 10 minutes. Carefully remove the doughnuts from the pan with a soft spatula, and allow to cool completely.

Glaze

Sift powdered sugar, into a medium bowl. Drizzle the maple syrup, and mix until combined. Add the milk 1 tablespoon at a time until you reach the right consistency.

One thought on “Maple Doughnuts – Gluten Free

  1. Maple is such an underused flavor – these donuts look wonderful. And I totally agree – planning all your meals and having good snacks on hand makes everything easier!

Go ahead.. leave a comment

