Slow Cooker Indian Carrot Soup

Indian Carrot Soup-3

I was never a soup person growing up. Sure I ate the odd chicken noodle when I was sick, or the classic tomato soup (with grilled cheese). This one time I fell in love with pea (green pea) soup and I asked my mom, no I begged my mom to make it ALL the time and she did. Then after 2 weeks of constant pea soup, I never ate another bowl for 20 years. She killed pea soup, like that song you download to your phone or iPod, and you play it until the words have no meaning and is the most boring song in the world, killed it.

Indian Carrot Soup-2

In her defense, her child was asking for a vegetable, even if it was in soup form.  So other than the 2 weeks back in 1980 something when I gorged myself with pea soup, I wasn’t too excited for soup.

Indian Carrot Soup

Then a few years back, I had this friend whose grandmother was famous for her soup. I was all like “ who’s famous for soup? Except for that Seinfeld guy. “  Well let me tell you! I was a soup convert. I couldn’t believe that much flavor could be packed into a hot bowl of liquid. I have forever been trying to re-create that kind of flavor punch into all my homemade soup.

Indian Carrot Soup-4

I have had some failures, and successes, this is definitely one of them. Its packed full of flavor and it’s a stick to your ribs kinda of winter soup.   Make it! Eat it! And warm up!

Slow-Cooker Indian Carrot Soup

[Adapted from http://www.canadianliving.com/food/indian_spiced_carrot_soup.php]

4 Cups of Diced Carrots
2 Onions, Chopped
2 Celery, Chopped
1 Cup of Lentils (I had Orange on hand)
1 Tablespoon of chopped garlic, about 2 Cloves
1 Teaspoon each of Cumin, Turmeric, and Chili Powder
½ Teaspoon each of Salt and Pepper
¼ Teaspoon of All Spice
2 ½ Cups of low-sodium Chicken Broth
2 ½ Cups of Water

Plug in your slow cooker, and dump all the ingredients in and give it a stir. Put you cooker on low (8 hours).

You can speed it up, by setting your slow cooker to 4-5 hours, but longer is bester…. I mean bestest, I mean… you know what I mean.

After it done cooking, puree in a blender, and server!

2 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Indian Carrot Soup

  1. I love the sound of this soup! Especially that it uses lentils – I’ve been on such a kick with them lately! Plus, it’s just pretty with that orange yellow color 🙂

Go ahead.. leave a comment

