Doughnuts (Gluten Free)

I’m such a cliché!

Doughnuts (Gluten Free)-9I swear I didn’t intend on being a cliché. You know in the summer how I challenged myself to go gluten free for one month? Well I did….. It was in an effort to broaden my culinary horizons at home and while eating out.

Doughnuts (Gluten Free)13It totally worked. I learned so much about gluten free baking, and was so surprised at how many restaurants cater to gluten free eating, or at least gluten friendly eating. After that I wanted to give up something even more difficult.   I considered sugar, but then the holidays showed up, and come on….. no sugar, means no Christmas… at least in my world. So I shelved the new challenge idea.

Doughnuts (Gluten Free)-3Like everyone else in the entire world, I indulged over the holidays, not overly, but just enough to make me want to take that challenge off the shelf and add a few extras. So for someone who never makes New Year’s resolutions, I am now not only sugar free, but also gluten free, process food free, ad white rice and potato free. In case you’re thinking I’m completely crazy (cause I am), I have decided to do a clean eating challenge.

Doughnuts (Gluten Free)-6I am really excited, and scared to death. In a couple of weeks, you may see me tackling people outside the local doughnut shop for their chocolate glaze.

Doughnuts (Gluten Free)12

In an attempt to avoid those situations and having a complete melt down, I will be allowing myself a cheat meal once a week. You can be sure I’ll be cracking open Ashley’s cookbook “Baked Doughnuts for everyone”.

Doughnuts (Gluten Free)-7Ashley is truly a genius at gluten free baking, you can’t even tell these doughnuts are gluten free. There is a little sugar in these, but I’ll feel like a super star eating these for my cheat meal.

Doughnuts (Gluten Free)-8Even if you’re not crazy, you should totally get her book, and bake a million doughnuts.

Doughnuts (Gluten-Free)

[Adapted from Ashley’s totally awesome book “Baked Doughnuts for Everyone“]

½ Cup of Oat Flour
½ Cup of Sweet Rice Flour (NOT Rice Flour)
1/3 Cup of Sugar
¼ Cup of Ground Almonds (aka almond flour or almond meal)
1 Teaspoon of Baking Powder
Pinch of Salt
2 Eggs
¼ Cup + 3 Tablespoons of Buttermilk (*or make your own)
3 Tablespoons of Unsweetened Applesauce
2 Tablespoons of Oil (I used Grape Seed Oil, but EVOO works)
2 Teaspoons of Vanilla

Chocolate Frosting

2/3 Cup of Powdered Sugar
¼ Cup of Cocoa Powder
1-3 Tablespoons of Milk

Pre heat your oven to 350 degrees, grease up your doughnut pan (or muffin tin), set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk oat flour, sweet rice flour (NOT rice flour), sugar, ground almonds, baking powder and salt, set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk together, eggs, buttermilk (* or make your own), applesauce, oil and vanilla. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry. Fold until just combined. Just like quick bread of muffins, you don’t want to over mix this.

Spoon the batter into your doughnut pan (or muffin tin). It should reach almost to the top, leave about 1/8 of an inch.

Bake for 20 -22 minutes. If you are using a muffin tin, check the doneness, with a tooth pick and leave in for a few more minutes if not done yet.

Allow to cool on a wire rack in the tin for about 5 minutes, remove from the tin and allow to cool completely before frosting

Frosting

In a small bowl, sift together the powdered sugar and the cocoa powder. Add the milk 1 tablespoon at a time until you reach the right consistency. I only used a tablespoon and a half.

When the doughnuts are cooled, frost them up and sprinkle the hell out of them!

*to make your own buttermilk, add 1 tablespoon of white vinegar to a one cup measuring cup and then top off with milk. Allow to site for 10 minutes… …voila! Buttermilk!

4 thoughts on “Doughnuts (Gluten Free)

  1. Haha!! I’m so glad you’re crazy.. and I can’t wait to see what you come up with for this new challenge of yours. Holy smokes my friend…I’m not sure I could do that! I’m so impressed right now!

    Gluten free, sugar free, process food free, white rice and potato free… You’ll rock the house… you always do. ❤

    As for these doughnuts…they look fabulous. I have a doughnut baking pan, so I'm thinking that you might have me talked into trying them! I've never heard of sweet rice flour, is that with the rice flour too?

    Awesome post…awesome recipe…awesome you. ❤ you lots.

  2. These donuts look so good! I’m always looking for new gluten free recipes to try … my mom and sister have to eat gluten free and I love finding recipes that don’t really taste gluten free (you know what I mean!). Now if only I would finally crack and buy a donut pan 🙂

Go ahead.. leave a comment

