Browned Buttered Brownies… Best Ever

Best Brownies Ever-8

I had this whole post written out about this new healthy clean eating challenge I’m starting next month, and realized that, that’s next month.   This is this month, and there is still time for me to stuff my face with brownies.

Best Brownies Ever

Let me tell you little stories about brownies. Ever since I started my blog, I’m always hearing that I don’t make enough chocolate stuff for Mr.PBandO… so I made it my mission to bake him the perfect brownie.

Best Brownies Ever-4

As he likes to point out, I made him eat a lot of brownies, and most of them.. not so good. Apparently I made a really good batch this one time, but when I made them again, I was promptly told, they were not the same brownies.

Best Brownies Ever-7

I continued to bake batch after batch of brownies, and while most of them got eaten (some more than others) I was failing miserably. Until one day I baked up the quickest, and easiest batch ever. They were a huge hit, He couldn’t believe how much he loved them… then I told him they were from a box!

Best Brownies Ever-9

I would take this as failure, but I don’t. Sometimes the box is just better. And even if other people disagree, everyone has different tastes. So the search is over for Mr.PBandO ‘s perfect brownies… you win betty!

Best Brownies Ever-10

So as a consolation, these were the runner up. Out of all the batches I made (excluding the mysterious recipe I lost), these were the best out of the bunch. I don’t think Mr.PBandO gave them enough credit, they were fantastic.

Browned Butter Brownies… Best Ever

[Adapted from http://cookieandkate.com/2014/the-very-best-brownies/]

10 Tablespoons of Unsalted Butter
1 ¼ Cups of Sugar
¾ Cups of Cocoa Powder
½ Teaspoon of Salt
¼ Teaspoon of Baking Powder
½ Teaspoon of Finley Ground Coffee
2 Eggs
1 Teaspoons of Vanilla
2/3 Cups of Flour
1/3 Cup of Chocolate Chips

Pre-heat the oven to 325 degrees. Prepare an 8×8 pan with 2 pieces of parchment paper, make sure the parchment hangs over all 4 sides.

Melt butter in small sauce pan over medium heat. Once the butter is melted, continue to cook the butter over medium heat, stirring frequently until it turns a turns a warm caramel color. Don’t let it burn, that’s why you have to keep stirring. You will know when it’s browned, cause you’ll want to drink it! Remove from the heat and stir in sugar, until dissolved.

Add the cocoa powder, salt, baking powder and coffee. Stir until incorporated. Set aside to cool for 5-10 minutes.

Once cooled, add the eggs one at a time, whisking fast, you don’t want the eggs to cook, especially if your mixture isn’t cool enough.

Add the vanilla and flour, and stir for 2-3 minutes, it should look shiny. Fold in the chocolate chips. Drop the batter (it will be thick) in blobs all of the prepared pan. I used a cake spreading spatula to spread the thick batter. This can be difficult, just take your time.

Bake for 35 to 40 minutes, or a tooth pick comes clean. The original recipe said to bake for 25 minutes, this was not long enough for me, I made these 3 times and all 3 times I needed 40 minutes.

Allow to cool for 10 minutes on a wire rack, then lift the brownies out and cut into 4 large pieces… or however big you like your brownies.

8 thoughts on “Browned Buttered Brownies… Best Ever

  1. You’re so freaking adorable. I’ve been on a brownie mission too lately… and it’s the same exact story as you… I made some brownies about a year ago. My son Michael ate the whole pan…and requested them again…but when I made them, he told me that I either did something wrong..or that it wasn’t the same recipe! I’ve been trying to find that recipe ever since! In the meantime..he’s been getting box mix brownies, just because I don’t want to hear the bitching and moaning!! Hahahaha!
    LOVE this recipe. I’ll be trying it for me. Not for Mike. ❤

  2. Pingback: Very Best Brownies | So Simple Sweets

Go ahead.. leave a comment

