Slow Cooker Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

It’s Christmas Eve people!

Slow Cooker Meat Sauce-8

All my Christmas presents are bought, wrapped, my turkey is thawing, my cookies are baked ( and half eaten), my halls are decked, my stockings are hung and the bottom of my tree is empty. I’m done!

Slow Cooker Meat Sauce

The last thing I want to do, other than tomorrows feast, is cook!

Slow Cooker Meat Sauce-3

I do however have family up and they always seem to want to eat. Any my suggestion of cookies for dinner is always over ruled.

Slow Cooker Meat Sauce-4

So what I like to do is whip up a batch of this Slow Cooker spaghetti sauce, that way I can pull it out when the fam is here, and dinner is served.

Slow Cooker Meat Sauce-6

This sauce is so yummy, and versatile, you can add whatever you want to it. I like to freeze it in freezer bags with 2 serving portions. It thaws really well in the sink and the freezer bags take up virtually no space.

Slow Cooker Meat Sauce-5

The only thing I’m stressing over is Christmas day dinner!

Slow Cooker Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

[Adapted from http://allrecipes.com/recipe/meat-lovers-slow-cooker-spaghetti-sauce/%5D

2 Tablespoons of Olive Oil
1 Large Onion, Chopped
2 Teaspoons of Garlic, Minced
2 Large Hot Italian Sausages
1 Pound of Ground Beef
3 Teaspoons of Italian Seasoning (I used Club House)
1 Can of Plain Tomato Sauce (29 ounces)
1 Can of Tomato Paste (6-7 ounces)
1 Can of Italian Style Diced Tomatoes (14-15 ounces)
1 Can of Plain Diced Tomatoes (14-15 ounces)
2-3 Fresh Basil Leaves, Chopped
1 Tablespoon of Sugar

Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Remove sausage from its casing and break up into chunks. Cook until completely cooked. Add to slow cooker.

In the same skillet, add the onions and garlic and cook for 2-3 minutes.   Add ground beef, breaking up while you cook. Cook until ground beef is no longer pink. Add the itilian seasoning, and cook for 2 more minutes.

Add the cook ground beef to the slow cooker.

Add the remaining ingredients, and mix until combines.

Set the slow cooker to 8 hours. It makes quite a bit of sauces.

One thought on “Slow Cooker Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

  1. I sure would have loved to have been at your house on Christmas Eve eating that delicious pasta. I don’t know, is it weird that I had my face up to my computer screen with my nose all flat, trying to get a whiff of that? It’s so funny, my co-worker and I were just discussing spaghetti this morning, and she made me so hungry for it, I went out at lunch and bought the ingredients I needed to make rigatoni for tonight! And thanks you to you, Tracy…now I have the recipe too… LOVE. ❤

Go ahead.. leave a comment

