Beef Stew and Rosemary Dumpling

Beef Stew With Dumblings-7

I know I should be talking to you about Christmas, or this incredible stew right here, but instead I thought I would share with you one of my guilty pleasures.

Beef Stew With Dumblings

If you know me, you know I have bad taste in TV, especially when it comes to reality TV. I have been known to watch Laguna Beach, and the ever popular spin off, the hills, and can’t forget The City. I even got addicted to Deadliest Catch, which is so random.

Beef Stew With Dumblings-2

Before I confess my most recent reality addiction, let me just clarify I have never watch (a full episode) of Jersey Shores.  Ok here it is…..

Beef Stew With Dumblings-3

I’m totally into the Kardashians. Yup that’s right, I am caught up with the Kardashians. I think I have seen every show, including the spin off shows: Kourtney and Kim Take New York, Kourtney and Kim Take Miami, Khloe and Lamar and of course the most recent show Kourtney & Khloe Take the Hamptons.  I can’t explain why I like it. It’s like watching a train wreck, and posh and pretty train wreck.  Sometimes I feel like we are friends. Me, Kim, Khloe and even Kortney.

Beef Stew With Dumblings-4

Ok enough about my bad TV watching habits. I will make it up to you by sharing with you this delicious stew with rosemary dumplings. This meal is a favorite in our house, and it freezes really well.

Beef Stew With Dumblings-8

Sorry for over sharing. Eat Stew!

Beef Stew with Dumplings

[Adapted from Janet and Greta’s Eat, Shrink and Be Merry]

2 Cups of Low Sodium Beef Broth
2 Tablespoons of Balsamic Vinegar
2 Tablespoons of Tomato Paste
2 Teaspoon of Sugar
Pinch of Salt and Pepper
2 Pounds of Stewing Beef Cubes, 1-2 Inch Pieces
2 Tablespoons of Flour
2 Teaspoon of Olive Oil
1 ½ Cups of Chopped Onions
1 Cup of Chopped Celery
2 Cups of Chopped Carrots
2 Cloves of Garlic, Minced
2 Teaspoons of Herbs de Provence
½ Cup of Light Sour Cream
2 Tablespoon of Cornstarch
1 ½ Cup Bisquick
1/3 Cup of Milk
1 Teaspoon of Dried Rosmary

In a small/medium bowl add beef broth, balsamic vinegar, tomato paste, sugar, salt and pepper. Stir a couple times. Set aside.

Trim off the fat from the beef cubes.   Place in plastic bag or bowl and coat with flour.

Heat olive oil in a large skillet, over medium heat. Add the flour coated beef cubes, and cook until browned on the outside. Add onions, celery, carrots and garlic. Cook until the onions are soft, about 4-5 minutes.

Add the herbs de province, and cook for one more minute. Add the beef broth mixture, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, simmer for 30 to 60 minutes, or until the carrots are sort.

After 45 minutes, mix the sour cream and cornstarch, mix into the stew.

In a small-medium bowl, mix bisquick and rosemary. Pour in milk, and fluff with a fork. Roll the bisquick into tablespoon size ball, and drop them into the stew. Cover, and let sit for 15 to 20 minutes, or until the dumplings are double in size.

Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Beef Stew and Rosemary Dumpling

  1. Oh man, I’m totally guilty of watching bad shows. I spend most of my time scouring Netflix for terrible sci-fi movies… like Terra Nova, or Under the Dome, and stuff like that. I get so caught up in them, that I have to start googling them to see if they’ve been cancelled or not…and then I’m so bummed to find out that they have been cancelled! Haha!

    Anyway, I think this stew will help me get over my disappointment that Terra Nova was cancelled like five years ago.. This looks so delicious. I’m a sucker for stew, and this one is right up my alley! Awesome post. Love this…love you. ❤

  2. haha yeah, I think we all watch bad shows! I was better when we got rid of cable (but then we just got it back this fall for football …) and now I’m right back to watching trashy shows.

    This stew looks delicious! And very welcome considering I’ve been eating wayyy too many sweets lately!

  3. Pingback: INTRODUCING ‘NEW’ BLOGGERS #26 | thenotsocreativecook

Go ahead.. leave a comment

