Parsnip Apple Soup

Parsnip Apple Soup-6

I have been knee deep in cookies lately. I feel like it’s the only thing coming out of my kitchen. This is exactly how it happens every year. I don’t really feel like making anything else. If it’s not some sort of Christmas baking, I just don’t feel like making it. Besides baking, there is so much prepping to do for Christmas.

Parsnip Apple Soup

But a girl cannot live off of Christmas cookies and fruit cake alone. I have tried, trust me.

Parsnip Apple Soup-5

What I like to do is live out of my freezer. I find cooking for 3, sometimes leaves me with left overs.   Often times I’ll end up cooking a meal just for me. Mr.PBandO is not always up for trying out my experiments. Needless to say I usually have a fully stocked freezer, and at Christmas time its the perfect time to dig into it.

Parsnip Apple Soup-4

This soup is one of those recipes that the Mr. wasn’t quite interested in. Really, just no sense of adventure. It left me with a few leftovers as a result. I like to freeze soup in freezer bags, saves on space.

Parsnip Apple Soup-9

It warms up beautifully, just pop it out of the freezer and into a pot.   When I made it originally I whipped up that fried leek garnish, it was a really nice crunchy addition, and it fancied it up a bit.

Parsnip Apple Soup-8

This is the season of shopping, baking, wrapping, and decorating, who has time for dinner.   Whip up this soup and pop it in the freezer, for those nights you want something warm and quick.

Parsnip Apple Soup

[Adapted from http://www.canadianliving.com/food/creamy_parsnip_celery_and_apple_soup.php]

2 Tablespoons of Butter
1 Leek, Sliced (I used the whole thing)
¼ Teaspoon each of Ground Ginger and Salt
1 Pound Bag of Parsnips, Sliced and Peeled
3 Celery, Chopped
1 Apple, Cored, Peeled and Chopped
3 Cups of Chicken Broth
3 Cups of Water
¼ Cup of Whipping Cream (35%)
2 Teaspoons each of Mustard, and Apple Cider Vinegar

For the Garnish

Vegetable Oil, enough to reach 1 inch of a small pot
1 Leek, Sliced Lengthwise

 

In a deep pot, melt butter over medium heat. Add the leeks, ginger and salt. Cook until the leeks are softened, about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.

Add the parsnips, celery and the apple. Cook, stiring for about 5 minutes. Add the chicken broth and water. Bring to a boil, then reduce to medium-low, and allow to simmer for 20 -30 minutes, or until the parsnips become tender. Remove from heat and let sit for 10 minutes.

Working in batches, blend in a blender until smooth. Return to the pot, stir in cream, mustard and vinegar.

For the garnish:

Heat enough vegetable oil to cover 1 inch of a small pot. Drop small batches of sliced leeks, until brown, not black. My first try, I totally burned them. I just lowered the heat and tried again. It wont take to long, may 30 – 60 seconds. Place them on a paper towel so some of the oil can absorb into the paper towel. Place the leeks on top of the soup when serving.

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Parsnip Apple Soup

  1. haha yeah, I feel like I’m mostly just cranking out sweets from my kitchen too! I really need to use my freezer more often. I don’t freeze a lot (since we always do dinner leftovers for lunches) but I really should think about it more! I would love to pull this soup out after one of my baking sprees!

  2. This looks like a dinner that would be perfect for me on a night when my husband’s working late. Even though he’s a chef, he tends to eat more basic cuisine off work. I, on the other hand, love the combo of parsnips and apples and can totally imagine downing a bowl of this on a cold winter day!

Go ahead.. leave a comment

