Oatmeal Raisin Cinnamon Chip Cookies

oatmeal cinnamon chip cookies-5

I love heading south of the boarder. You Americans have the best culinary treats. I’m often found drooling over American food blogs, Facebook pages and Instagram photos of gingerbread M&M’s, cherry filled dark chocolate chips, birthday cake flavored everything, and of course cheese in a can.

oatmeal cinnamon chip cookies I’m not even joking about that last one. I’m pretty healthy and do my best to keep only fresh ingredients in the house, but put a can of cheese in front of me and seriously, I will devour it in minutes. I think I once heard it was one ingredient away from being plastic. oatmeal cinnamon chip cookies-2Friends who know I have a blog and unwavering fetish for treats only found across the border, often bring things back for me to try.   I usually LOVE everything I get, except this one time, someone brought me cinnamon chips. No not potato chips covered cinnamon, but I might have jumped all over that.

oatmeal cinnamon chip cookies-3They are like chocolate chips, but cinnamon flavored. I didn’t really know what to do with them. They kind of just sat in my cupboard. I was stumped. oatmeal cinnamon chip cookies-6So I googled it. There are some weird and wonderful suggestions out there, but nothing was peaking my interest.   Then I flipped the bag over. There is was, Oatmeal Cinnamon Chip Cookies. Seriously! The back of the bag.

oatmeal cinnamon chip cookies-4I added a few raisins to change it up. Next time you’re not sure what to make with an ingredient, flip the bag, or the box, or whatever type of package it’s in, you’d be surprised what you find.

Oatmeal Cinnamon Chip Cookies

1 Cup of Butter, Softened
1 Cup Brown Sugar
1/3 Cup of Sugar
2 Eggs
1 ½ Teaspoon Vanilla
1 ½ Cups of Flour
1 Teaspoon of Baking Soda
2 ½ Cups of Quick Cooking Oats
1 Cup of Cinnamon Chips
¾ Cups of Raisins

In a medium bowl, whisk flour and baking soda, set aside.

In a stand-mixer using a paddle attachment, cream butter and both sugars until light and fluffy. About 2 minutes. You can also use a plain old bowl and spoon and cream the butter and sugars by hand.

Add eggs to the butter mixture, one at a time, until incorporated. Add vanilla. Now add the flour, I did this is 3 parts.

Using a wooden spoon, fold in the rolled oats and then the cinnamon chips and raisins, until combined.

Place cookie dough in the fridge for at least 2 hours. It helps the butter to harden. If you don’t chill the dough, your cookies could come out flat.

Pre-Heat the oven to 350 degrees.

On a cookies sheet with a silicon baking matt, or parchment paper, drop cookie dough in 2 tablespoon size balls. Bake for 10 -12 minutes. If you are using parchment, check them after 10 minutes. I find cookies take shorter to bake on parchment, but the silicon has a consistently perfect effect each time.

3 thoughts on “Oatmeal Raisin Cinnamon Chip Cookies

  1. Ahh….hahahaha!! South of the border… I’m just over the border. 🙂 It’s so crazy right now with all of our Canadian neighbors visiting for their shopping… and now that we have the new and improved Outlet Mall, it is even more of a madhouse. It’s so difficult to just run and buy a quart of milk!!

    If there is anything you ever need me to pick up for you, I’d gladly send it your way!!

    Cookies look divine. I’ll be emailing you shortly about cookie Monday. ❤

Go ahead.. leave a comment

