Cherry Icebox Cookies

Cherrie Icebox Cookies-10

Tis’ the season! OMG someone slap me!

Cherrie Icebox Cookies-4

I am so not a November Christmas person, if it were up to me nothing Christmas related would be allowed until December first.   On the other hand I do love getting all my Christmas shopping, baking and planning done in November.

Cherrie Icebox Cookies-5

It’s kind of a catch 22. I hate any mention of Christmas until December 1st , yet I love getting all the holiday stuff out of the way before then.   I know I know… I’m a walking contradiction.

Cherrie Icebox Cookies-7

I’m kind of a Scrooge until December 1st, then watch out… I literally explode with Christmas. The decorations go up… the lights are light, the presents are wrapped, the dogs get dressed up in their traditional Santa and elf costumes (you know you want me to post those) I even can be seen on the highway singing along to my local Christmas station.

Cherrie Icebox Cookies-11

It’s actually a little annoying. Its like I save up Christmas all year long and then I unleash her… MRS. Freakin’ Christmas!

Cherrie Icebox Cookies-12

I think my favorite thing about Christmas is the gifts.. nay I’m kidding. First Christmas goodies, then gifts… kidding…. Sort of.

Cherrie Icebox Cookies-9

I made these little beauties a couple of weeks ago just to test out the Christmas baking waters. I only used red cherries, as to not seem so Christmas crazy… I didn’t fool anyone. I think I like these because you can freeze them up to 3 weeks, and then pull them out, and bake!   Super easy.

Cherry Icebox Cookies

2 2/3 Cups of Flour
½ Teaspoon of Baking Powder
¼ Teaspoon of Salt
1 Cup of Butter, Softened
1 Cup of Sugar
1 Egg
1 Tablespoon of Vanilla
¾ Cup of Chopped Red and Green Candied Cherries

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, and salt. Set aside.

In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugar together, until fluffy. I used my stand mixer with the paddle attachment. Beat in the egg and vanilla, until mixed.

By hand, slowly add the flour, I did it in three batches. Gently fold in the cherries.

Divide dough into three pieces.   Place each piece on a large plastic wrap, and shape into a log about 8 inches long and 1 inch high. Wrap the plastic wrap tightly around the logs, and place in the fridge for a minimum of 2 hours or the freezer for up to 3 weeks.

When ready to bake, remove from the fridge or freezer (let stand for 2o minutes if in the freezer). Slice dough into ½ inch thick rounds, and place on a baking sheet lines with parchment paper.

Pre heat the oven to 375 degrees. Bake for 10-15 minutes, or until golden brown. I find the browner they are the better they taste. Let cool on a wire rack.

 

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Cherry Icebox Cookies

  1. Oh wow, then I would definitely get on your nerves; my Christmas season starts November 1st lol

    But hey, your cookies looks divine. Wish I had that whole tin to myself 😉

  2. I’m usually anti-Christmas until Dec. 1 too — but I think I also got bit by the bug early this year. I was actually contemplating putting up my lights this weekend. *sigh* As hard as it is, I’m forcing myself to hold out. But I think it’s never too early to test out holiday baking. I’m all for anything that means more cookies! =)

  3. A walking contradiction. That’s me! Aren’t we allowed to be that? I’ll say one thing, and do just the opposite, and that is my prerogative. Right?? 🙂 And the male species better not point it out, or question that either, if they know what is good for them!! 🙂

    Love, love LOVE these cookies! I’m a shortbread kind of girl. Printing them right now! ❤

Go ahead.. leave a comment

