Cheddar Cheese and Chive Scones

I am a horrible traveler!

Chedder Chive Scones-10

We’ll I’m a horrible Return traveler. You see I’m fine on the way there, whether it’s driving, taking a bus, a train or flying. It doesn’t really matter how long or short the trip is. It doesn’t even matter how good or bad the trip was.

Chedder Chive Scones

I recently took a trip out to Calgary to visit my sister , her husband and my 2 beautiful nephews. I had a wonderful week. I got to spend time with my very smart, well behaved and handsome 4 year old nephew. I also go to meet my new 3 month old nephew; you’d be surprised how heavy 13 lbs is after 40 minutes. And of course my beautiful and talented sister.   I love food, but she has an incredible passion for food that surly surpasses mine. I was treated to some amazing meals. Did I mention she has the patients of a saint?   A 4 year old and a 3month old.. need I say more.

Chedder Chive Scones-2

So obviously I had an amazing time, aaaaand then I had to make my way home. I’m not sure if the trip was as horrible as I thought it was or if it was just that I hate the travel home. There’s always either a crying baby, or jerk in front of you that reclines his seat all the way back decreasing the already tiny bit of leg room you have, and even after you ask him to move his chair up, he completely ignores you. Then you try and watch a movie, but the screen is in the head rest, in front of you and its practically in your lap now…… so you sit in your seat, uncomfortably shifting around in the smallest space possible and your seat buddy is fast asleep and it takes like forever to wake them so you can go pee. Oh and did I mention the dirty look she gave me.

Chedder Chive Scones-6

Then you get off the plane, which always seems to take forever, like hello people, we landed and have been parked for 10 minutes. Even the walk to the baggage claim seems like its 10 football fields away.   I don’t know about you, but I love the thought of someone waiting to welcome me home. I have said as much to Mr.PBandO, and he knows personally how I hate my travel home. But it is much easier for him not to park, and just keep looping around until I get my bags and get outside.

Chedder Chive Scones-7

SO I start down the escalator and who do I see at the bottom… Mr. PB andO and my step daughter. Seriously just washed away the whole horrible trip home.  Love you guys!

Chedder Chive Scones-11

So thank you to my sister and her husband, for having my in their home and allowing me to share, good food, great company and two of the most beautiful kids I’ve ever seen.

Chedder Chive Scones-12

Thanks to you guys too, for reading the ramblings of a crazy person. Here is a twist of Jessica’s scones from her cookbook. These are awesome just like her book!

Chedder Chive Scones-11

Cheddar and Chive Scones

[Adapted from Jessica’s Seriously Delish cookbook; Strawberry Coffee Cake Scones]

2 Cups of Whole Wheat Pastry Flour (or 2 Cups Plain)
1 ½ Teaspoons of Baking Powder
½ Teaspoon of Baking Soda
¼ Teaspoon of Salt
3 Tablespoons of Cold Mascarpone Cheese
2 Tablespoons of Cold, Unsalted Butter
1 Cup of Aged Cheddar
2 Tablespoons of Fresh Chopped Chives
1 Cup of *Buttermilk

 

Preheat your oven to 425 degrees. Line a baking pan with parchment, set aside.

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  Cut in the cold mascarpone cheese and cold butter with 2 knives or a pastry blender, until it resembles small pebbles.

Mix in the cheddar and chives.   Pour in the buttermilk, using a spoon at first, mix it until it starts to come together. Using your hands, covered in flour, form into a ball. It’s important not to kneed or mix the dough to much.  Place the ball on a floured surface and flatten into a circle about 1 inch thick. I used a ruler.

Using a floured knife, or floured pizza cutter, cut into 6-8 pieces. Separate them slightly (not touching) and place on the prepared baking sheet.

Optional; whisk and egg with a tablespoon of water, and brush the tops of the scones with it.

Bake in the oven for 15 – 20 minutes. Check them after 10 minutes.

Serve warm with a bowl of soup, or on its own with butter. Or you could put an egg in the middle with bacon, and….. eat it any way you want.

*to make your own buttermilk, put 1 tablespoon of vinegar in a 1 cup measuring cup, and pour milk to fill the rest of the cup. Allow to sit for 10 minutes…. Tada you have buttermilk.

One thought on “Cheddar Cheese and Chive Scones

  1. Pingback: Cheddar Cheese and Chive Scones | homethoughtsfromabroad626

Go ahead.. leave a comment

