Butterscotch Apple Loaf

Butterscoth Apple Loaf-6

Today’s post is being brought to you by the letter “P”, as in parchment paper . The word of the day is parchment paper. parchment paper, parchment paper, parchment paper. Did I mention parchment paper.

Butterscoth Apple Loaf

SO why am I yelling at you about parchment paper. Well maybe I’m not yelling, but I was yesterday.   I had meltdown number 2 and 3 yesterday. If you don’t remember check out last week’s post that chronicled meltdown 1. Maybe I need some time off, lucky for me I’m headed to Calgary to visit my Sister and he family… we’ll chat about that next week.

Butterscoth Apple Loaf-4

Back to the meltdown(s).   The first one started because I made another attempt at royal icing. It’s kind of like me and pie crust in the past… I’m just not getting it PERFECT. Now that I have made a few so so attempts at it, in my mind I should be whipping super awesome royal icing decorated cookies like a professional baker…… right? One day I’ll get over it and then I’ll finally get the hang of it…. in that order.

Butterscoth Apple Loaf-5

Meltdown number 3 for this week, was completely my fault and reason I keep repeating Parchment paper. I have recently fallen in love with fruit cake. Love it, or hate it, it does represent Christmas, at least in my family. My mom and my Aunt would start Baking it in late October. As soon as it cooled from the oven, they would wrap it in cheese cloth, soak it in booze and place it in the closet until Christmas. Every once and a while re-soaking it with booze. I always wondered why no one was drunk from eating it.

Butterscoth Apple Loaf-7

This year I decided I would take over the tradition. I went to my local bulk store and bought all the candied dried fruit I need, which included dates… that I had to cut up, by hand, and it took forever and my hand still hurts. I soaked all the fruit in bandy for 24 hours, whipped up the batter, and poured it into two loaf pans, NOT LINED WITH PARCHMENT PAPER.

Butterscoth Apple Loaf-9

I did butter the pans, like the recipe said, but really people this is not my first rodeo. I use parchment paper for everything. Nothing sticks to it. So when I tried to remove the fruit cakes from the loaf pans, they stuck.  This is where the great fruit cake meltdown began. I think one of my dogs is still eating bits of fruit cake from under the fridge and the other one is still in hiding.

Butterscoth Apple Loaf-8

So run out and buy yourself a whole bunch of Parchment paper, and line everything with it.  Don’t wait until you have a meltdown over stuck fruit cake.  REALLY! Thanks for reading my crazy, here is a loaf, and yes I used parchment paper. It’s yummy, make it!

Butterscotch Apple Loaf

[Adapted from Canadian Living Magazine October 2014]

Butterscotch Sauce

1/3 Cup of Butter
3/4 Cup of Brown Sugar
3 Tablespoon of 35% Whipping Cream

Loaf

1/2 Cup of Butte (1 Stick), Softened
1/3 Cup of Sugar
1/3 Cup of Brown Sugar
2 Eggs, Lightly Beaten
1 Teaspoon of Vanilla
3/4 Cup of Milk
1 ¾ Cup of Flour
1 ½ Teaspoon of Baking Powder
1/2 Teaspoon of Baking Soda
1/4 Teaspoon of Salt
2 Cups of Peeled, Chopped Apple

For the butterscotch sauce:

In a small sauce pan, over medium heat, melt butter.   Mix in the brown sugar, until its dissolved. Remove from heat, and stir in cream, let cool for 45 minutes.

For the loaf:

Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees

Butter and line a loaf pan with PARCHMENT paper.   You can let it hanger over the sides, or at least line the bottom of the pan.

In a medium bowl, whisk flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt, set aside.

In a large bowl, beat butter and both sugars until fluffy.   Add beaten eggs, and vanilla, mix until combined. Mix in milk.

Gradually add the flour mixture into the wet ingredients.   I did it in 3 batches. Stir in apples and half the butterscotch.

Pour the batter into the prepared loaf pan. Drop the remainder of the butterscotch in spoonful’s. Using a knife, swirl the butterscotch around the batter. I used half of what was left over.

Bake for 1 hour, or until a toothpick comes clean.

8 thoughts on “Butterscotch Apple Loaf

  1. Ahh…hahhaha!! I’m so sorry to hear about your parchment paper (or lack thereof) story. I’m interested in hearing about that fruit cake though. I’ve never had a homemade fruitcake, so I don’t know if I do like them or not!! I know that I don’t like the store bought version. But we all know that everything is much better when it’s homemade…
    So this bread looks so delicious. I would totally eat that right out of the oven. Hot. I might even smear a little butter on it, just because that’s what I do. I take something, and then make it so fattening!! No wonder my jeans are tight. 🙂
    Beautiful recipe. ❤

  2. hahaha oh gosh, I so feel your pain. I line everything with parchment paper and when I forget … it ain’t pretty. But! This loaf looks amazing! Butterscotch is so underused in my kitchen, which I really need to change.

  3. I’ve definitely had a parchment paper melt down of my own when going to make a layer cake. I’ve mixed the batter all up and everything- then found out I was out of parchment paper. Luckily, I can usually make it work with the grease and flour method, but yeah. The struggle is real.

    This loaf looks awesome. Thanks for sharing. Great recipe. Great post 🙂

  4. How’s it going!? I too have had my fair share of meltdowns thanks to forgetting something. I think the same thing happened with non-stick spray. Because apparently, for me, something can be labeled as non-stick up the wazoo, but if I don’t spray it with spray, I’ll be scraping it off with a spatula later.

    The loaf looks and sounds fantastic! Absolutely perfect for this time of year. I used to have butterscotch more often than not. I should remedy that.

  5. Pingback: Monthly Top 10: October Edition | PeanutButter and Onion

  6. Baking meltdowns… ahhh, I know it all too well. I still remember my gluten-free fiasco from Spring 2014. Threw a hot pan of melty brownie in the backyard. Might have accidentally scalded a squirrel, I am not sure. All I remember is waking up with a fork of rock hard crystallized gluten free goop clutched in my hand.

    This apple loaf sounds amazing. And I promise I’ll use parchment paper. The good kind!

  7. Pingback: INTRODUCING ‘NEW’ BLOGGERS #26 | thenotsocreativecook

Go ahead.. leave a comment

