Goat Cheese and Tomato Galette – Gluten Free

Gluten Free Goat Cheese and Tomato GaletteI have made it no secret that pie crust was not my favorite thing to make, but over the years I have managed to master it. For me it was being afraid of using too much water and expecting perfection every time.

Gluten Free Goat Cheese and Tomato Galette-3

My crust was always to dry and crumbly, and the thought of patching a crust was unspeakable. I did finally get over this, and I added more water, and if I added to much I’d add a little flour. I’ll do this until the pastry becomes perfect, or something close to it.

Gluten Free Goat Cheese and Tomato Galette-4

Really it was just a matter of practice, and like most people I know, you’re not whipping up pies on a daily basis. So it took me a couple of years to gain the practice and knowledge to perfect my pie making skills.

Gluten Free Goat Cheese and Tomato Galette-6

So when I started my gluten free challenge, or rather wheat free, on august, I really wanted to master a gluten free pie crust.  I tried a couple of different crusts, and found that the premix gluten free flours tasted like play-dough. It was a combo of several different gluten free flours that came out best.

Gluten Free Goat Cheese and Tomato Galette-7

Give it a go and don’t be afraid to practice, you will master it eventually.

Gluten Free Goat Cheese and Tomato Galette-8

Goat Cheese and Tomato Galette – Gluten Free

[Gluten Free Pastry adapted from: http://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2013/11/gluten-free-pastry-crust.html%5D

Crust

1 ¼ Cups of Brown Rice Flour
½ Cup od Sweet Rice Flour
½ Cup of Tapioca Starch (flour)
1 Teaspoon of Xanthan Gum
1 Cup of Cold Butter, Cut into Small Pieces
6-8 Tablespoons of Cold Water

Filling

1 Tablespoon of Olive Oil
1 Large Onion, Cut into Rings
2 Medium Tomatoes, plus 6-8 Cherry Tomatoes (or 3 Large)
4 Ounces of Goat Cheese (Half a Log)
2 Teaspoon of Fresh Thyme, Chopped (or ½ Teaspoon of Dried Thyme)
1 Egg

In a medium bowl mix all the flours and the gum with a whisk. You can either continue in the bowl or if using a food processor, put the flour mixture into the food processor. Add the cold butter that has been cut into smaller pieces. Blend in the food processor or using a pastry blender mix until it resembles coarse sand.

Now add the cold water, starting with 4 tablespoons, and adding until the dough comes together. The dough should be slightly sticky, it should come together to form a ball.

Tip: Don’t be afraid to over water the dough, if it becomes to sticky, toss in some rice flour with a bit of tapioca starch.

Split into two pieces, flatten and form 2 discs. Place in the fridge for at least 2 hours.

After an 2 hours, remove from fridge and set aside to soften a bit while you prepare the filling.  Pre-heat the oven to 400.

To prepare filling: Heat the olive oil in a medium sauce pan over low medium heat. Add the onions, and cook until translucent.   Slice the tomatoes into thin slices

Sprinkle rice flour on a clean surface, and roll out dough on the shape of a circle. Place onions on the bottom, followed by the goat cheese, then sliced tomatoes, and sprinkle with the thyme.

Gently fold the edges of the pastry in to form the galette.

Whisk the egg with a tablespoon of water, and brush the pastry with the egg mixture.   Bake for 20 minutes, or until the pastry browns.

 

7 thoughts on “Goat Cheese and Tomato Galette – Gluten Free

  1. Pie crust definitely took me a while to get the hang of too – and you’re right – it’s largely because I don’t make it all that often. This looks awesome – love that filling and saving the crust for when I cook for my sister!

  2. Oh my goodness….does this look delicious. It’s so beautiful…something that I would definitely make for a dinner party…. yet something that I’d make to sit out on the porch with a bottle of wine with too….
    I love this type of dish…so simple, yet elegant. Just beautiful, Tracy. LOVE this. ❤

Go ahead.. leave a comment

