Cran-Apple Streusel Breakfast Muffins

Cranapple Streusel Muffins-7I think I may have a problem! An addiction of sorts.

Cranapple Streusel Muffins

Let me start by saying I am not one of those people who collects endless amounts of collectables, and clothes and such. I’m quite the opposite really. I hate clutter! I’m the person that regularly donates a bag of clothes every season. My Motto is, if I haven’t used it in 1 year, toss it.

Cranapple Streusel Muffins-3

Mr. PBandO thinks I’m a clothes hoarder.  Last time I was shopping and found the most perfect sweater ever, he mumbled something about me having to many sweaters.  I didn’t understand that remark.  How does someone have to many sweaters, that’s like having to many shoes… IMPOSSIBLE.

Cranapple Streusel Muffins-4

Back to my problem… my magazine collection. I have somehow managed to let my collection grow to around 200 food magazines. I don’t know what it is about a food magazine, I’ll be standing in the grocery line and I’ll spot a cover with a delicious new recipe that claims to the best ever.  That might actually be my Achilles heel, the title “the best ever” .

Cranapple Streusel Muffins-6

I think I’m afraid to throw out one of these magazines. I mean there might be the best ever pumpkin pie recipe, or the best ever brownie recipe.

Cranapple Streusel Muffins-8

I think I found this recipe in one of those recipe card inserts, you know the ones that fall out as you flip through the magazine.   Thank god I did, cause this is really the best ever cran-apple streusel muffin recipe ever.     Goes perfect with your morning cup of tea!

Cran-Apple Streusel Breakfast Muffins

[Adapted from http://www.robinhood.ca/Recipes/Occasions/Fall-Harvest/Apple-Cranberry-Crumble-Muffins]

Streusel Topping

¼ Cup of Brown Sugar
¼ Cup of Chopped Slivered Almonds
3 Tablespoons of Oats
1 Teaspoon of Cinnanmon
1 Tablespoons of Melted Butter

Muffins

1 ¼ Cups of Flour
1 Cup of Whole Wheat Pastry Flour
1 Cup of Brown Sugar
1 Teaspoon of Baking Soda
1 Egg (room temperature)
1 ½ Cups of Light Greek Yogurt
1/3 Cup of Melted Butter
1 Cup of Diced Apples (I used Granny Smith)
½ Cup of Dried Cranberries

 

Streusel Topping

In a small bowl, add all the ingredients, and fluff with a fork until combined. Set aside.

Muffins

Pre Heat your oven to 315 degrees. Line a muffin tin (12) with paper liners, or spray with non-stick spray, set aside.

In a large bowl, combine Flours, brown sugar and baking soda. In a medium bowl, whisk egg, add yogurt and butter.   Add wet ingredients to dry and stir until combined. Fold in apples and cranberries. Top each muffin with some streusel.

Spoon muffin mixture into prepared muffin tins. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes.

4 thoughts on “Cran-Apple Streusel Breakfast Muffins

  1. Ahh…hahaha!!

    First…I’m so sorry that I haven’t been around, Tracy… I totally suck. Too much junk going on.

    I love these muffins…they sound absolutely wonderful. I’m so happy you’ve somehow hoarded all of those magazines!! My kids bought me a Nook about two years ago for Mother’s Day…and my magazine problem was solved!! All of my magazines are on that Nook…and any recipes that I loved, I’ve made a document that has the name of the recipe, and which magazine and issue that it’s in…and just a note of how much I loved the recipe, how soon I want to make it, and if it is for a certain time of year. ❤

Go ahead.. leave a comment

