Pineapple Chicken with Coconut Rice

Pineapple Chicken-6

Pineapple!  I know, I know, I should be showing you pumpkin, squash and warm yummy soups.  I just can’t seem to let summer go.

Pineapple Chicken

I love love love Fall, and over the weekend I had to release my kung foo grip on the summer.  We headed up to the ski resort town, Mont Tremblant in Quebec , over the weekend.  Its nestled between the mountains and every tree is currently boasting bright fall colors.

Pineapple Chicken-4

Even though I’m admitting its fall and enjoying the cooler evenings and admiring all the bright colors, I still can’t let go, food wise.  At this rate I may be showing you fall comfort foods in February.

Pineapple Chicken-3

I promise my food will catch up the season, just give me a few more minutes.  Until then fire up your grill, go find a pineapple and enjoy this awesome summer inspired chicken.

Pineapple Chicken-5

Pineapple Chicken with Coconut Rice

[Adapted from http://bevcooks.com/2011/07/grilled-hawaiian-chicken-with-coconut-cilantro-rice/ ]

Chicken and Marinade
¾ Cup of Soya Sauce
¾ Cup of Water
¾ Cup of Coconut Milk
½ Cup of Pineapple, Cut into 1 Inch Pieces
3 Tablespoons of Brown Sugar
3 Green Onions, Chopped
3 Teaspoons of Garlic
½ Teaspoon of Sesame Oil
6 Chicken Thighs
Rice
1 Cup of Rice
½ Cup of Coconut Milk
½ Cup of Pineapple Juice

Take the first ingredients and put them into a larger resalable bag. Place the check in the bag and toss. Place in the fridge overnight, or a minimum 2 hours.

When you’re ready heat up your grill to medium heat ( I used my charcoal grill, cause it’s awesome). While the grill heats up, turn on your rice maker and add all the rice ingredients. If you don’t have a rice maker… go get one…. Or boil the coconut milk and pineapple juice, turn the heat down, and add the rice, let site for 20 minutes.

Place the chicken onto the heated grill. Grill for 6 to 8 minutes per side. Remove from the grill and server over the rice.

4 thoughts on “Pineapple Chicken with Coconut Rice

  1. Rice cooked in coconut milk is my favorite! I can’t believe I’ve never added pineapple juice – so silly of me! This meal sounds delicious – we love dishes like this during the week.

Go ahead.. leave a comment

