Blueberry and Peach Coffee Cake

Best Ever Blueberry Peach Coffee Cake-8

This coffee cake! You guys, I’m not even kidding… BEST EVER COFFEE CAKE! I don’t even want to bore you with a story about myself, or my dogs, or even the ever exciting world of Mr.PBandO (tiny shout out, he’s not impressed with one of my top ten items.. stay tuned)

Best Ever Blueberry Peach Coffee Cake

No my friends, I simply want to ramble on about how absolutely amazing the coffee cake is. It all started with an over ripening basket of peaches, and a few almost turned blueberries ( I said almost). Mr.PBandO think I have questionable standards when it comes to due dates… that’s another story.

Best Ever Blueberry Peach Coffee Cake-2

I thought… Coffee Cake, I need to make some coffee cake. Coffee cake automatically makes me feel relaxed… I can picture myself lounging on my couch, sipping coffee or tea, eating a warm piece of coffee cake. This coffee cake fulfills that day dream.

Best Ever Blueberry Peach Coffee Cake-3

I’ll admit I was a little apprehensive when I started reading the steps to make the crumble topping, but it totally works, and I am so making all my crumble topping this way. As you can see above, if you mix it for the full 2-3 mins, it actually becomes like course sand.

Best Ever Blueberry Peach Coffee Cake-4And the batter is quite thick, so I found it handy to pull out my flat spatula and smooth it out. I love this spatula, it’s awesome for icing a cake, even if you think you’re not that great at it, this makes it look all professional. Buy it.

Best Ever Blueberry Peach Coffee Cake-7

Serious folks, look no further for that perfect coffee cake, its right here. Honest!

Best Ever Blueberry Peach Coffee Cake-11

[Adapted from http://www.browneyedbaker.com/blueberry-peach-coffee-cake/]

Crumble Topping

1/2 Cup of Flour
1/2 Cup of Brown Sugar
2 Tablespoons Sugar
A Pinch of Salt
1/2 Teaspoon of Cinnamon
¼ Cup of Unsalted Butter, Softened, Cut up into smaller pieces

Cake

1 ½ Cups of Flour
1 ½ Teaspoon of Baking Powder
10 Tablespoons of Unsalted Butter, Softened
2/3 Cup of Sugar
½ Teaspoon of Salt
1 ½ Teaspoons of Vanilla
2 Eggs
2 Cups of Blueberries
2 Cups of Peeled and Chopped Peaches

 

In a deep bowl, mix the first 5 ingredients until blended. Now the weird part.  Add the butter, with a hand mixer, mix on medium speed for 2 -3 minutes, or until it resembles coarse sand, set aside.

Pre-Heat the oven to 375, and place the rack on the lower shelf. Grease a 9 inch pan (square or round) and place a piece of parchment paper on the bottom. Set aside.

In a small bowl whisk flour and baking powder, set aside. In a stand mixer on medium, or a large bowl, cream together butter, sugar and salt. Do this for at least 3 minutes. On low speed, add the vanilla and eggs, one by one, until blended. Slowly add the flour mixture.   Fold in the blueberries and peaches by hand.

Spoon out the batter into the prepared pan. The batter is very thick, you can smooth it out with a cake spatula, or the back of a spoon.   Remember that crumble you made. Take a handful and squeeze it util it comes together, then crumble it over the cake. BEST CRUMBLE EVER!!

Bake for 1 hour , or until a tooth pick comes clean. Cool on a wire rack.

Note** I find coffee cakes, like muffins, keep for 2 days, after that, they lose that awesome flavor and go soggy.  Especially if you keep it wrapped up tight in plastic wrap or an air tight container. I don’t ever put it in the fridge. I simply eat it all at once… or cover loosely with tin foil. The second you seal it, the crumble and the cake, get soggy. I did freeze 2 pieces of this, and warmed in the oven at 350 degrees, for 20 minutes, keeping a close eye that it didn’t burn.

2 thoughts on “Blueberry and Peach Coffee Cake

  1. Well now I need to try that crumble topping asap! And the cake too. Obviously 🙂 haha This sounds so good! It’s been far far too long since I’ve made a coffee cake!

Go ahead.. leave a comment

