Sweet Potato and Maybe Peanut Butter Soup

Sweet Potato Soup-4

Please do not click away. I’m not crazy I swear, well crazy is a relative term out here in food blogger world.

Sweet Potato Soup

But seriously this combo is actually awesome. I was skeptical at first too, But then I remembered I eat peanut butter and onion sandwiches aaaaand decided I had already crossed a line.

Sweet Potato Soup-2

I did used the word “maybe” in the title, so if this peanut butter in the soup thing is freaking you out, you can omit it. But trust me, you want give it a go.

Sweet Potato Soup-5

The first time I tried this combo, it wasn’t in a soup. I had already ventured down this road before. I was watching a cooking show, and this chef, added peanut butter to his sweet mashed potato.

Sweet Potato Soup-3

The first time I did it, I put waaaaay too much in. A little peanut butter goes a long way. That rule also applies when you put peanut butter on a burger with bacon and cheese… we’ll chat about that some other time.

Sweet Potato Soup (2)

Now that I have probably totally grossed you out, go and make some sweet potato soup, and put some peanut butter on it… do it, do it, do it, do it.

[Adapted from http://www.canadianliving.com/food/sweet_potato_soup.php]

2 Sweet Potatoes
1 Tablespoon of Olive Oil
1 Medium Onion, Chopped
1 Teaspoon of Garlic, Minced
4 Cups of Low Sodium Chicken Broth (Or Vegetable Broth , or Full Sodium Chicken Broth)
½ Teaspoon each of Salt and Pepper
1 Tablespoon of Creamy Peanut Butter

Peel and cut sweet potatoes into 1 inch pieces. In a medium pot filled with water, add the cut up sweet potato, bring to a boil. Boil the potatoes until tender. I usually check with a fork. Drain the water and set aside.

In a large skillet, heat olive oil over medium heat. Cook onion and garlic until onions are tender. Add chicken broth and allow to heat.

In a blender, add sweet potato and chicken broth in 2 batches and puree until smooth.

Return pureed mixture to the medium pot. If it’s too thick, you can add a little water or chicken broth if you have any left. Add the peanut butter and heat the soup through.

Serve with a sprinkle of crushed up peanuts or sesame seeds, like I did, because I forgot to buy some.

8 thoughts on “Sweet Potato and Maybe Peanut Butter Soup

  1. Oh don’t be like that! It’s an awesome combo, own it!! 😀 Once I made this Ethiopian-style (or so the recipe *claimed*) stew-soup thingy with loads of PB + sweet potato and lots of spices and it was sooooo addictive. And roasted sweet potatoes with spicy peanut sauce? YASS. That soup looks incredible, wish I could drink it from the screen.

  2. Well I’m definitely not grossed out – in fact I’m so intrigued and must try this!

    I love sweet potato soup and with just that hint of peanut butter – it sounds pretty darn fantastic!

  3. You are not crazy. Well….honestly…I truly believe that we all have to have a little crazy in us. How else could we cope with the craziness around us? So yes…I do believe you might be a little crazy. But not about this. This is fabulous. Delicious. Peanut butter in anything is delicious. You’re so freaking adorable. ❤ you. ❤

Go ahead.. leave a comment

