Mixed Greens Salad with Creamy Mango Dressing (and Candied Pecans)

Well my friends, it’s that time of year, Summer is ending.  Technically we still have until Sept 21st for Fall to begin, but the signs are upon us.

Mango Spinach Salad-4

The mornings are darker, the pumpkin flavored everything is.…well everywhere, the Halloween decorations are in stores, and the golfers are panicking… that one is specifically directed at Mr. PBandO. Lately he always seems to be rushing off to the course to squeeze in a round, … or 2 or 3.

Mango Spinach Salad

I actually have this picture in my head of him and all the other golfers fleeing from their cars, rushing to the course, knocking over people, armed with drivers and golf carts….

Mango Spinach Salad-2

On to this salad.  There is actually a connection to the fleeting summer season and Mr. PBandO’s golf, other than him panicking over the end of the golf season.

Mango Spinach Salad-3

In an effort to spend time with my Tiger Woods… or is Tiger so 2 years ago? I have been playing a few rounds myself. They have a sort of date night at his club every Saturday night. You get to have a golf lesson (god do I need it) and then you get to play 9 holes, followed by dinner. It’s actually a nice way to spend an evening.

Mango Spinach Salad-6

Of course my favorite part is the dinner. They always have a special menu, and last time I was there they had THIS salad as a starter. It first caught my eye when I saw the word goat cheese. Goat cheese makes everything yummy. It turned out to be the BEST salad I ever had.

Mango Spinach Salad-7

A couple of days later I was still thinking and talking about it. So I re-created it. It turned out awesome, so awesome I barely got pictures. I actually had 3 bowls of salad made up for my photos and I may have eaten 2 of them while taking the pictures.

Mango Spinach Salad-5

I’m seriously contemplating licking the screen.

Mango Mixed Green Salad With Creamy Mango Dressing

1 Cup of Pecan Halves
2 Tablespoons of Butter
2 Tablespoons of Brown Sugar
2 Ripe Mango
4 Teaspoons of Sour Cream
3 Tablespoons of Vinegar
2 Tablespoons of Maple Syrup
¼ Teaspoon of Salt and Pepper
1 Tablespoon of Poppy Seeds
2-3 Cups of Mixed Greens
½ Cup of French’s Fried Onions
2- 3 Tablespoons of Goat Cheese

To prepare the candied pecans (this is for you Trina), in a small sauce pan, melt butter. Stir in brown sugar, until dissolved. Toss the pecan halves, until coated. Spread out on some parchment paper until dry.

To prepare the creamy mango dressing, cut up on ripe mango, I use the porcupine method, toss in a blender with the sour cream, vinegar, maple syrup, salt and pepper. Once blended well, stir in the poppy seeds, set aside.

To assemble the salad, chop up the second mango into small (or large) pieces. Toss mixed greens, fried onions, goat cheese, mango, and candied pecans, drizzle as much dressing as you want.

 

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Mixed Greens Salad with Creamy Mango Dressing (and Candied Pecans)

Go ahead.. leave a comment

