Blueberry Crumb Bars

Hello blueberry season. Oh how I have missed you. Well not really, I’ve been eating blueberries all year round, except now they are in season and super yummy.

BlueBerry Crumb BarsSo what is a blueberry loving gal supposed to do with all these fresh blueberries? Oh ya, and she just came off a month long gluten free challenge, and apparently is now talking in the third person…. OK that was weird. Let’s face it, there is only one person who pulls off talking in the third person. You know, THE ROCK!!!

BlueBerry Crumb Bars-2I was super obsessed with wrestling when I was younger, and like most of us young wrestling fans, was totally devastated to learn it was fake. Thankfully I had zero attention span and it took me, like 5 minutes to get over it.
Looking back, how did I not know!!

BlueBerry Crumb Bars-3I digress; back to the blueberries, or rather what I did with said blueberries. I made these!!! I’m always at a loss for what to make with a big bowl of fresh blueberries, the possibilities are endless. So I went with a classic. Blueberry Crumb Bars.

BlueBerry Crumb Bars-4

Just thinking about that buttery oatmeal crust topped with gooey blueberry filling and topped off with a crumbly oatmeal topping, MmmMmm!!!! I had to wait a whole 50 minutes for them to bake, and 10 more whole minutes for them to cool!

BlueBerry Crumb Bars-6

TOTALLY WORTH IT!!!! Make these, like yesterday.

BlueBerry Crumb Bars-5

p.s. I apologize for the over use of the word like and “!” contained in this post.

Oatmeal Blueberry Crumb Bar

[Adapted from http://www.canadianliving.com/food/blueberry_oatmeal_squares.php%5D

2 ½ Cups of Regular Oats
1 ¼ Cup of Flour
1 Tablespoon of Grated Lemon
¼ Teaspoon of Salt
1 Cup of Cold Butter
Blueberry Filling
2 Cups of Fresh Blueberries
½ Cup of Sugar
¼ Cup of Lemon Juice
4 Teaspoons of Cornstarch
2 Tablespoons of Water

To prepare filling, boil blueberries, lemon juice and sugar in a medium pot until blueberries are broken down. Mix water and cornstarch in a small container, and pour into the blueberry mixture. Mix until combined. Pour into a container. Place plastic wrap on top, make sure the plastic wrap is touching the blueberries. This is so a film doesn’t form. Place in the fridge, until cool. About 2 hours.

Pre-Heat Oven to 350 Degrees

In a large bowl, mix oats, flour, lemon rind, and salt. Cut butter into small pieces. Blend into oat mixture with 2 knifes or a pastry blender, until it resembles crumbs.

Line an 8 X 8 pan with parchment paper. Press half the oat mixture into the pan. Pour blueberries on top of oats. Sprinkle the other half of the oats on top of the blueberries. Gently press the oats down.

Bake in the oven for 50 Minutes.

4 thoughts on “Blueberry Crumb Bars

  1. Like..I say “like” all the time… and I use !!! like all the time. And I would totally use “like” and !!! if I was describing these delicious blueberry crumble bars! No, that’s not right… I’d like totally use the word LOVE!!! if describing these delicious blueberry crumble bars… but damn, they look really good…

    Oh and yes! Let’s Skype knit and eat peaches and blueberry crumble bars! ❤

  2. I loveeee me some blueberries! These crumb bars … they look just awesome. And I’m hungry and wanting dinner and these are not helping my rumbling tummy! haha

Go ahead.. leave a comment

