Lemon Poppy (or Chai) Seed Muffins – Gluten Free

We are heading to Canada’s Wonderland!

Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins - Gluten Free-4

For those of you who don’t know what this place is, it has the second largest number of rollercoasters in the world. Next to Six Flags Magic Mountain, in Valencia, California, USA. They have 2 more coasters, and to be fair, they have been open for 10 years longer.

Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins - Gluten Free

I grew up in this place. I spent every summer, and practically every weekend, there from age 13 to 17. Me and my bestie would get up super early, get all dressed up, cause there were cute boys along with all those roller coasters. We would grab the wonder bus (don’t laugh, that’s what it was called) and we would arrive there at 9am and spend all day and head home at 9pm.

Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins - Gluten Free-2

Although I am looking forward to heading back to my old stomping ground, I won’t be doing too many rides. Sadly I have reached that pivotal age where you get all old and nauseous on the rides.

Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins - Gluten Free-3

Oh well, I can live vicariously threw my step-daughter and my younger sister. I’ll just sit in the shade and eat funnel cake.

Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins - Gluten Free-6

In the middle of this little trip, I am still doing my wheat free thang. I thought the month would be over before we headed out, but we pushed the vacation up a week. If I thought it was a challenge before…..I’ll just have to make a double batch of these and bring them along.   That’s the only thing I have found really challenging, is food on go is tough. All the fast food places serve food on a bun or wrapped on some other bread product.

Lemon Poppy Seed Muffins - Gluten Free-5

So while my companions snack on burgers and taco’s I can dig in to these light and fluffy muffins. I have found that gluten free can sometimes mean crumbly and tasteless. Not these babies! For more yummy gluten free recipes, head over to London Bakes, she really knows how to rock the gluten free baked goods.

Lemon Poppy (or Chai) Seed Muffins – Gluten Free

[Adapted from http://londonbakes.com/2014/03/lemon-almond-and-chia-seed-muffins.html%5D

2/3 Cup Plus 1 ½ Tablespoons of Brown Rice Flour
½ Cup, Scant of Ground Almonds
1 Teaspoon of Baking Powder
¼ Teaspoon of Baking Soda
½ Teaspoon of Salt
¼ Cup Plus 1 Tablespoon of Sugar
1 Lemon Zested
1 Egg
½ Teaspoon of Vanilla Extract
¼ Cup of Olive Oil
¼ Cup of Sour Cream
1 Tablespoons of Poppy Seeds (or chai seeds if you’ve got em)

Handful of Slivered Almonds, or sugar for Decorating

Pre-Heat the oven to 325 degrees, and line a 6 of the cups in a muffin tin with paper liners, or grease with butter.

In a large bowl, whisk flour, ground almonds, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.

In a medium bowl mix the sugar and lemon zest together. Whisk the egg into the lemon sugar along with the vanilla extract. Stir in the olive oil and sour cream, until combined.

Stir the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients.

Spoon the batter into the prepared muffin tins, top with Almonds or sugar. Bake for 20 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

Allow to cool and pack in a bag to bring to Canada’s Wonderland… oh wait, that’s me.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Lemon Poppy (or Chai) Seed Muffins – Gluten Free

  1. Oh, have fun!! I’ve only been to Canada’s Wonderland a couple of times…but I was much younger then, and more into theme parks! It sounds like you’re totally have a plan with these beautiful muffins…
    Have a wonderful time…and be safe, Tracy!! ❤ ❤

  2. Have a great time! I’ve been to that Six Flags in Valencia! And will never forget that roller coaster ride I should have never took. 🙂 Muffins looks wonderful…love the almonds on top.

Go ahead.. leave a comment

