Cherry Clafoutis – Gluten Free

Cherry Clafoutis 7

I have a list of 40 or so food blogs I regularly troll… I know… only 40.

Cherry Clafoutis-2

I do have a special elite blog list that is especially reserved for those food blogs that I love looking at, but never really think of making the recipes. I think it’s because I figure there is no way my version will ever come close to the master piece that they have created.

Cherry Clafoutis-3

I’m a little intimidated by these blogs….. it’s kind of like going to New York and walking by the Prada store, and looking in through the window, then looking down at what your wearing, and knowing you are so not dressed well enough to walk in.

Cherry Clafoutis-4

Since I am wheat free this month, I’ve had to avoid some of my regular food blogs, and go searching for gluten free options. In doing so, I have found myself hitting a lot of these beautiful food blogs. I have walked in to Prada in my ripped jeans and no one told me to get out.

Cherry Clafoutis-5

I guess what I’m saying is, these beautiful food blogs have some pretty interesting recipes.

Cherry Clafoutis-6

Not only are they beautifully photographed, but they’re not that complicated to make. Take this Cherry Clafoutis, from Elizabeth’s beautiful food blog Local Milk. Not only does she make it look stunning in her photos, it was super simple to make.  Mine even looked pretty.

Cherry Clafoutis-7

So, lesson learned. Don’t judge a blog by its pictures, pretty blogs need love too.

Cherry Clafoutis

[adapted from http://localmilkblog.com/2014/07/gluten-free-cherry-clafoutis.html]

½ Cup of Sugar
16 Ounces of Cherries, Pitted and cut in half (About 2 Cups )
3 Eggs
1 ¼ Cups of Buttermilk (don’t have any, make your own HERE)
1/3 Cup of Ground Almonds
2 Tablespoons of Brown Rice Flour
2 Teaspoons of Vanilla
Pinch of Salt
Powdered Sugar, to make it look pretty

Pre-Heat your oven to 375 degrees. Butter up a 9 inch pie plate and set aside.

Pit all your cherries and cut them in half. You don’t have to cut them, but then the pieces are to big. Cover the bottom of the pie plate with the cherries.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the eggs and milk. Add the ground almonds, brown rice flour, vanilla and salt, mix until blended.

Pour mixture over the cherries.

Bake for 50 minutes or until the center is set.

When it’s finished, it will resemble a flan kind of cake. Sprinkle powdered sugar, slice and serve warm. I heard that the French pour a little cream on theirs… that’s only if you want to be all fancy.

 

16 thoughts on “Cherry Clafoutis – Gluten Free

  1. I totally understand about those “elite” blogs. To be honest, I look at yours as one of them, and can only hope to make it to your level someday. You’re there sister-friend… you’re already there. You’re totally dressed to shop in that store. ❤

    Second… this clafoutis looks spectacular. I'm so into cherries right now…I can't seem to get enough of them! Honestly? I think I'm the sole person who has kept the cherry farmers of Western New York in business these last couple of months! I have a bag and a half in the fridge right now, and I think I know what I'm going to try making with them if not tonight, then sometime this week for sure! It's beautiful. LOVE. ❤

  2. This is so pretty!! Especially with that sprinkle of confectioners’ sugar! And I bet it tastes delicious – you can’t go wrong with fresh cherries!

Go ahead.. leave a comment

