Sweet Potato Skillet Breakfast Hash – Gluten Free

Breakfast Hash-7

Day 10: Wheat Free.I’m not doing that bad. As I rambled on to you last week, I decided to go 1 month wheat free. I just couldn’t bring myself to fully commit that last couple of steps, and go full gluten free.

Breakfast Hash

There were a few things on the list that I just couldn’t give up… ketchup being one of them. Although most ketchup’s are considered gluten free, I didn’t want to risk finding out that my favorite ketchup wasn’t. So we are Wheat free this month instead.

Breakfast Hash-2

I wouldn’t say I’m a ketchup addict or anything, but I do enjoy trashing up some perfectly good meals with ketchup… with a lot of ketchup.

Breakfast Hash-3Some of my favorite meals to drown in ketchup are Kraft dinner, of course. I’ve also been known dip a few quesadillas in the stuff. I have even assaulted a few burgers and hot dogs, with excessive amounts of the tomato liquid gold, ok maybe I’m a little addicted.

Breakfast Hash-5

I think my favorite all time meal to trash up is breakfast. Be it eggs, sausages, bacon, and especially breakfast potatoes. That’s why when I was blog stalking Jessica, I found this breakfast skillet hash, and I knew my ketchup obsession had found a new home.

Breakfast Hash-6

It’s also wheat free, and gluten free, as long as you leave the ketchup out… but who wants to do that?

Sweet Potato Skillet Breakfast Hash – for 2

[Adapted from http://www.howsweeteats.com/2012/10/brussels-sprouts-breakfast-hash-for-dinner/]

1 Sweet Potato
4-5 Slices of Bacon
4 -5 Asparagus
1 Small Onion
2 Garlic Cloves, Minced
5-6 Brussel Sprouts
½ Teaspoon of Smoked Paprika
Salt and Pepper
¼ Teaspoon of Cumin
1 Egg

Chop up the brussel sprouts, asparagus, onion and sweet potato. I cut my sweet potato into 1 inchunks.

Heat a large oven proof skillet over medium heat Cook bacon until crispy, remove bacon, place on a paper towel. Drain off most off the fat.

Add 2 teaspoons of olive oil into the pan. Throw in the sweet potatoes and cook until soft, this took me 10 minutes.

Now through in the onions, garlic, asparagus and brussel sprouts. Allow to cook until onions are soft, about 2-13 minutes.

 

Now add all the smoked paprika, cumin, salt and pepper, continue to cook for 1 minute, stiring. Reduce the heat to medium low.

Heat a smalled pan, and add 2 teaspoons of butter, and fry up your egg, just the way you like it. I usually like mine, scrambles, but, sunny side up, is so much prettier.

Serve egg over hash, and trash it up with ketchup…. Or wait, is that just me?

 

9 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Skillet Breakfast Hash – Gluten Free

  1. Oh goodness gracious this looks good! I loveee sweet potatoes and have recently become a huge fan of brussels sprouts.

    haha and I definitely trash up some meals with ketchup – particularly anything that can be dipped!

Go ahead.. leave a comment

