Wheat-Free Waffles with Whip Cream and Mangos

I have decided to go wheat free for the next month.

Wheat-Free Waffles with Whipped Cream and Mango-5

At first I was telling everyone I was going gluten free, but very quickly I realized it wasn’t gluten I was avoiding, it was wheat. Which is almost the same thing for me, because most of the products I consume that have gluten, have wheat

Wheat-Free Waffles with Whipped Cream and Mango

I have attempted this before, but only a week at a time. And both times, I felt like I was just holding my breath until the week was over. I wasn’t committing to it, enjoying it, if you will.

Wheat-Free Waffles with Whipped Cream and Mango-2

I want to attempt this for 2 reasons. Number 1: I love bread, and pizza, and grilled cheese and cookies, and cake…. You get the picture. I also love a lot of other foods, but have managed to maintain a good balance. I even gave up cheese and pork for years(bacon included, I know, I don’t even want to talk about it). When it comes to wheat products, I feel like I can’t even think of giving it up. So what do I do, I give it up. Think of it as the ultimate challenge for me. It might even be harder than quitting smoking!

Wheat-Free Waffles with Whipped Cream and Mango7Reason number 2: I have had my fair share of stomach problems over the years. I was diagnosed with IBS, which to me means, “ we don’t really know what you have, but we recognize there is something wrong. “ When my stomach does act up, it’s NOT FUN. I once had stomach cramps for 6 weeks. I basically lived off a handful of strawberries, spinach and boiled chicken. YUK. So even though I seem to be doing well lately, I still have a lot of bloating and the odd cramps. I have heard people with IBS benefit from a wheat free diet. So maybe it will work for me.

Wheat-Free Waffles with Whipped Cream and Mango-4

Hopefully I last the month. I just started 2 days ago, and I already miss pie, and garlic bread, and crackers… you get the picture….. again!

Wheat-Free Waffles with Whipped Cream and Mango-6

Instead I will suck it up and eat some spelt waffles. These are fantastic and even better with fruit and whip cream. 2 days down, 26 to go!

Spelt Waffles

[Adapted from http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2013/06/17/healthy-waffles-recipe/%5D

½ Cup Spelt Flour (this has gluten)
Pinch of Salt
¼ Teaspoon of Baking Soda
1 Teaspoon of Baking Powder
1 Teaspoon of Cinnamon
2 Tablespoon of Maple Syrup
1 Tablespoon of Milk
½ Cup of Un-Sweetened Applesauce
1 Teaspoon of Vanilla
1/2 Cup of Heavy Cream (35% or higher)
1 Tablespoon of Powdered Sugar
2 Ripe Mango (or your fav fruit)

Heat up your waffle iron.

In a large bowl, whisk together spelt flour, salt, baking soda, baking powder and cinnamon, set aside.

In a medium bowl, mix maple syrup, milk, applesauce, and vanilla. Mix the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix well.

When the waffle iron is ready, spray with a non-stick spray, scoop half of the waffle mix into the waffle iron. Cook according to your waffle manufacturer’s instructions.

While the waffles are cooking, whip up some heavy cream with the powdered sugar, until you see soft peaks. Cut up a couple of mango’s, using the method I showed the first couple of pictures.   I googled it.

Server waffles with whipped cream and cut mango.

 

 

15 thoughts on “Wheat-Free Waffles with Whip Cream and Mangos

  1. Well, I wish you all the best in your endeavor…and I hope that going wheat free helps you with your tummy! If you keep cooking like this, you’re not going to miss wheat at all! This looks absolutely fabulous, Tracy! I’ve seen about three recipes now, using spelt flour. I’m totally intrigued, and I’m going to buy some, and try these waffles. Yum. ❤

  2. Well, I’m not going to find a panzanella salad here am I! 🙂 Hope you find what’s bothering you. And like Prudy said, cooking wonderful things like these spelt waffles you most likely won’t miss wheat at all. I love your photographs of the mango! Beautiful.

  3. Oh man, I’m sorry about your stomach problems! I hope that this helps you feel better!

    And these waffles sound wonderful – I keep meaning to try spelt flour but have yet to do it. And anything with mango is awesome! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Monthly Top Ten: July | PeanutButter and Onion

Go ahead.. leave a comment

