Cream of Asparagus Soup

I heart soup!!!!

DSC_0417

No, like really, I HEART soup.  I think I could live in on soup.  There are soooo many different combinations.  I guess anything that allows me to be super creative, I love!   I’m also not a huge veggie fan.   Soup is one of the ways I can trick myself into loving them.  So I guess you could say I love asparagus (via soup) Thank you soup!

238

Unfortunately, soup season is almost over.….

220

Something about eating soup with margaritas by the pool, doesn’t seem right.  So hurry up and make this soup! Before it doesn’t make sense anymore…

DSC_0412

Cream of Asparagus Soup

[Adapted from Canadian living http://www.canadianliving.com/food/cream_of_asparagus_soup.php]

3 Cups of cut up asparagus

2 Tablespoons of butter or margarine

1 Chopped leek (white parts only)

1 Teaspoon of grated lemon zest

2 Teaspoons of lemon Juice

¼ Teaspoon of pepper

4 Cups of low sodium vegetable or chicken broth

1/3 Cup of 5 % cream

Fresh chopped chives (optional)

Chop asparagus into 11/2 inch pieces, set aside.

Heat butter in a large skillet over medium heat.  Throw in chopped leeks, stir occasionally, and cook until soft, about 10 minutes.

Stir in asparagus, grated lemon zest, lemon juice and pepper. Pour in broth, bring to a boil and reduce to a simmer for about 10 minutes.

In batches puree the soup until smooth.

Return soup to the stove, on low heat; slowly pour the cream into the soup.  Heat until steamy and hot!

Pour into bowls and sprinkle chives if desired.

10 thoughts on “Cream of Asparagus Soup

  1. I feel your pain that soup season is over. I love it too, although, not as much as pizza.

    I’ve never had asparagus soup though and I’m sure feeling like I’ve been missing out!

Go ahead.. leave a comment

