What’s up with Peanut Butter and Onions?!?

Choosing a name for my blog was tough.  I wanted something different, easy to remember , and it had to mean something to me.

I thought I would never decide on a name.  Nothing seemed to fit that criteria.  Then, in October 2012, my father passed away.  It was during this difficult time that I decided to name my blog, Peanut Butter and Onion.

It goes back to my childhood.  There were 5 of us, meal time could be ….. um ..challenging to say the least.  Except for lunch!   You were allowed to create whatever kind of sandwich you wanted.  There were no rules… you just had to fit it between 2 slices of white bread.  There were a lot of weird and strange things eaten at that lunch table, but the award for most bizarre sandwich went to  my dad…… that’s right he would eat a peanut butter and onion sandwich.  He loved it and swore by it.  I spent years telling my dad he was gross, and his only response was; “You don’t know what you’re missing.”  This from a man who also wanted me to try liver and onions.  Finally I tried it, and he was right, it was the perfect sandwich… creamy peanut butter, with a savory crunch!  Liver and Onions next?

Dad Young  2

So, you see why I chose the name.  Not only is it a tribute to my dad, but it also made me realize that my food adventures started in my child hood with my family around the lunch table, with the simple freedom to create whatever sandwich I wanted… Thanks dad!

Me and Dad

6 thoughts on “What’s up with Peanut Butter and Onions?!?

  1. Wow, that gives the name of your blog a whole other dimension.

    I’m sorry for your loss. My wife lost her dad a few years ago and she still has difficulty coping some times.

    I think it’s great that you named your blog after your dad’s favorite sandwich. And such a unique sandwich at that! It’s also great that it was because of him you have this affection for food now.

    Despite the sad, there is all sorts of win in this story. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Peanut butter and onion – two foods I wouldn’t have put together in a million years. I’m curious about how it tastes, and since my own mantra is ‘you don’t know until you try it’, I just might have to head to the kitchen and make myself one. What do you recommend – red, white or green onions?

    I like this story and I think I might have liked your Dad had I met him 🙂

  3. my dad was also a big fan of the peanut butter and onion sandwich. my mother on the other hand favoured the peanut butter and lettuce sandwich. also peanut butter and pickle. odd, right?

Go ahead.. leave a comment

