Blueberry Streusel Muffin Ice Cream

So you know how last week after reading my post, you immediately ran to your kitchen and made those delicious blueberry streusel muffins?? Right? Right?

Blueberry Strusel Muffin Ice Cream-3

And you know how you totally scarfed down 6-7 of them in a 3 day period…. Ok 2 days if you were me.

Blueberry Strusel Muffin-10

Aaaand you know how you have 4-5 sitting in the freezer, left over? Well, you can totally pull them out and thaw them, cause we’re making ice cream with them.

Blueberry Strusel Muffin Ice Cream

Don’t feel bad if you didn’t get around to making those muffins, we can still be invisible friends, it just means you have some catching up to do.  In the eating and baking department, I’ll wait …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

Blueberry Strusel Muffin Ice Cream-6

Done?  Great!  Now we can all make ice cream together.

Blueberry Strusel Muffin Ice Cream-4

When I first saw this recipe on Jessica’s site, I was like… WHAAAT?!  How do you put muffins into ice cream?  Easy, you put muffins in ice cream.  It just goes in, and then you have muffin ice cream.  It’s that easy, and it tastes AWESOME!

Blueberry Strusel Muffin Ice Cream-7

So totally make this, and eat a muffin while you wait.

Blueberry Streusel Muffin Ice Cream

[Adapted from http://www.howsweeteats.com/2013/05/blueberry-muffin-ice-cream/%5D

4-5 Blueberry Streusel Muffins, crumbled
2 Cups of Whole Milk
1 ½ Teaspoons of Corn Starch
4 Ounces of Cream Cheese, Softened
½ Teaspoon each of Salt, and Cinnamon
1 ¼ Cups of Cream
2/3 Cups of Sugar
1 Tablespoon of Vanilla
2 Tablespoons of Corn Syrup

 

In a small bowl, mix 2 tablespoons of milk and cornstarch, set aside. In a large bowl whisk the soften cream cheese with salt and cinnamon.

In a large sauce pan, heat the rest of the milk, all the cream, sugar, vanilla, and corn syrup.  Do this on medium heat, until its boiling, but not boiling over.  Basically as soon as it stats to boil, turn down the heat, just a bit.  It should be rolling.  Do this for about 3-4 minutes. Keep stirring it, so it doesn’t stick and burn.

After 3-4 minutes, remove from the heat and whisk in the cornstarch/milk mixture… slowly.  Put back on the heat and bring it back to a boil again.  Stir it with a spatula, until it starts to thicken and stick to the spatula.  It took me 3 minutes.  Remove from the heat.

Pour the hot milk mixture into the cream cheese, do this slowly so all the cheese is incorporated. Pour mixture into a large Ziploc bag and place into a bowl full of cold water and ice cubes. Leave until completely cooled. About 45 minutes.

Pour the cooled mixture into your ice cream maker and following the manufacturer’s instructions.

When there is about 5 minutes left, add the crumbled muffins. I was able to stuff 5 in.

Freeze for at least 4 hours.

As a side note, I always find that homemade ice cream gets really hard, like hagen daz hard. I found leaving it in the fridge for 1 hour allows you to scoop it easily.

 

Leave a comment

13 Comments

  1. Oh wow this sounds FANTASTIC! Now I want to make some blueberry muffins just to have this ice cream, great job :-)

    Reply
  2. Holy smokes man… You made this! I saw this on Jessica’s site, and at the time thought it looked so, SO good!! And now I’m looking at it here, and it looks even better! BETTER!! I’m loving this post, I don’t have the muffins, but that can be rectified. My ice cream maker bowl is in the freezer, waiting for this to happen..
    Awesome post my friend… Gorgeous photos! <3

    Reply
  3. Look great, can’t wait to try them.

    Reply
  4. These look absolutely fantastic! I want to try them.

    Reply
  5. Wow …these look soo good….yummy!

    Reply
  6. I have this marked to try out from Jessica’s site too! It looks amazing. I alwayssss have extra muffins in my freezer so I don’t know what I am waiting for! But I do still need to make those blueberry streusel muffins – none of mine have streusel!

    Reply
  7. This sounds so good, I can’t believe I missed seeing this but I am getting caught up! I love blueberries and streusel anything, I know this has to be good :)

    Reply
  8. i can never go past a good blueberry muffin.. but a muffin ice cream, wow this is amazing. could definitely devour a bowl right about now!

    Reply
  9. Wow! Beautiful photos :) I’ve nominated your blog for the Liebster Award! Congrats. http://homemadeandwholesome.com/liebster-award/

    Reply
  10. Looks so good!

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 295 other followers

