Blueberry Streusel Muffins

I am sooooo tired.   Like so tired I’m having a hard time staying awake to type this. Every part of my body hurts. Especially my hands, so you can imagine how hard it is to stay awake and type this post with my aching hands. I do it cause I love ya!

Blueberry Strusel Muffin-11

On top of being really tired and having sore hands, I manage to slice open my knee this morning on a rusty nail. Ya, I know it’s really hard being me right now.

Blueberry Strusel Muffin-9

So why and I soooo tired with sore hands and how in the heck did I almost kill myself on a rusty nail? We put the first coat of stain on the deck this weekend, which took like a hundred years. There was bending and kneeling and stretching, and I’m pretty sure I’m developing carpel tunnel syndrome. I’m not the least bit dramatic…. right?   As far as the rusty nail in the knee goes, that’s just me being clumsy.

Blueberry Strusel Muffin-7

You should have seen the dramatic scene this morning. Well at least it was dramatic in my head. I was letting the dogs out for their morning business, and all of the sudden one of my dogs broke loose from my kung foo grip, so I spun around, and as I did, I felt this searing pain on my knee. When I looked down, all I saw was blood, and immediately (like a 2 year old) started to panic and cry.

Blueberry Strusel Muffin

My thought process went something like this, 1) OMG that’s going to leave a scar 2) This better not affect my running, I just got back on track, and 3) crap, when was my last tetanus shot. Clearly my priories are in order.

Blueberry Strusel Muffin-5

I had a long rough weekend/Monday morning, so if you excuse me I think I need a muffin. You can join me if you had a rough weekend/Monday, or if you just feel like having a muffin.

Blueberry Strusel Muffin-3

This is now my go to muffin recipe. My only issue with muffins, is that the next day, they are all soggy. So I did a little experiment, and I left them on a plate with a paper towel over them, and they didn’t get all soggy.

Blueberry Strusel Muffin-2Let’s face it, a muffin has a 2-3 day life span, and then you gotta freeze them.   Another tip, for when you take them out of the freezer, you can brush a little milk on top and bake for 10 min at 350 degrees, they taste like they did the first time you baked them.

Streusel Topping

¼ Cup of Brown Sugar
¼ Cup of Slivered Almonds
3 Tablespoons of Rolled Oats
1/2 Teaspoon of Cinnamon
1 Tablespoon of Canola Oil

Muffins

2 Cups of Flour
1 Cup of Browned Sugar
¾ Teaspoon of Baking Soda
½ Teaspoon of Salt
1 Egg
1 Cup of Buttermilk
¼ Cup of Butter, Melted
1 Teaspoon of Vanilla
½ Teaspoon of Lemon Zest
1 ½ Cups of Blueberry, Fresh

Streusel Topping

In a small bowl mix together the first 4 ingredients. Pour the melted butter over , and fluff with a fork, until blended. Set aside.

Muffins

Pre-heat oven to 375 degrees. Line 12 muffin tins with paper liners.

In a large bowl, whisk flour, brown sugar, baking soda, and salt together, set aside. In a smaller bowl, beat eggs, buttermilk, butter, vanilla and lemon zest. Mix the wet ingredients into the dry, until its blended. Fold in the blueberries.

Scoop into prepared muffin tins, I used an ice cream scoop.

Sprinkle streusel topping evenly over the muffins. Bake for 25 minutes.

Leave a comment

6 Comments

  1. I’m sorry you’ve had a rough day- feel better, and get some rest if you can.

    These blueberry muffins look marvelous though, so that’s a plus ;-)

    Reply
  2. Sorry I had to laugh and I am not a person who laughs at others misfortunes! I just love your dramatic thought process! Muffins make things better don’t they? These are lovely with their steusel topping and all.

    Reply
  3. Ugh yuck!! And I would have definitely started to cry as well. haha And I’m pretty sure my thought process would be something similar :)

    But these muffins look like an awesome way to cheer up! Blueberry streusel? You just can’t go wrong!

    Reply
  4. My poor friend… if I would have been there, I would have made muffins for you. Ok, not as nice and delicious as these…but I would have given it my best attempt!!

    Delicious muffins… Yep, I’ll be trying them this weekend! I have a weakness for blueberry muffins.

    I really need to get back into running. I had a love/hate relationship with it, and while it made me grumpy, and say bad words while I was running…I really miss it!

    Take care of yourself, my friend. <3 Awesome recipe.

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 284 other followers

