Beef Empanadas

Guess what I made us for dinner!

Empanadas-10

I feel all I show you is pie! Why not? Pie is the best! It’s so diverse. It’s like pizza or grilled cheese; You can put anything in it.

Empanadas-1

This is why I love empanadas. Not only is it pie for dinner, but it freezes like a dream. I’ll whip up a batch of these on the weekend, eat a couple, and then freeze the rest. I can throw these babies into the oven and poof, and dinner is ready and awesome.

Empanadas-2

The thing you need to know about me and dinner is, no matter how tired I am, I would rather spend 2 hours in the kitchen, than eat some crappy out of the box dinner. No offense to kraft dinner, it has its place.

Empanadas-4

That’s why I love these, I don’t have to spend 2 hours in the kitchen and I don’t have to eat a boxed meal. Win Win!!!.

Empanadas-5
So take some time and make a few of these, and you will never be forced to eat kraft dinner again, unless it is a kraft dinner kinda night, cause that happens.

Empanadas-11

Beef Empanadas

Dough

4 Cups of Flour
2 Teaspoon Baking Powder
2 Teaspoons of Salt
½ Cup of Cold Butter
1 Cup of Cold Water
1 Egg

Filling

1lbs of Ground Beef
1 Medium Onion
1 Jalapeno Pepper
½ Teaspoon of Chili Powder
1 28 ounces Can of Diced Tomato
½ Teaspoon of Salt and Pepper
½ Cup of Parsley

For the dough:
In a large bowl, whisk flour, baking powder, and salt. Using 2 knifes, or a pastry blender, cut the cold butter into the flour, until it resembles small crumbs. Pour 1 cup of cold water into the flour mixture, mix with a fork, until it comes together. Form 2 discs, and wrap in plastic wrap and place in the fridge for 1 hour. ** note: if the dough seems a little wet, add some more flour.

For the filling:
In a large skillet, brown the ground beef, add the onions and pepper halfway through. When the ground beef is no longer pink, add the chili powder and cook for 1 more minute. Add the can of diced tomatoes, salt and pepper. Allow to simmer for 20 minutes. Stir in parsley.

To assemble:
Pre-heat the oven to 400 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
Remove the pastry dough from the fridge. Working with one disk at a time, cut into 4 pieces, and roll each piece into a ball. Using a rolling pin, roll out dough. You can form the circle using a bowl about 5-6 inches around. Place the filling on one half of the circle. Brush water along all the edges. Fold in half, using a fork to press down the edges. At this point you can freeze them, and follow the same baking instructions as below.
Whip up the egg and add a little bit of water. Brush the top of the pastry with the egg, avoid the edges. Repeat with the other disc of dough.
Bake in the oven for 30 to 40 minutes.

 

 

Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. One of my all time favorite foods is stuffing meat into any kind of pastry, so I looove these empanadas! Can I have some for my dinner? Great job ;-)

    Reply
  2. Oh my gosh, Tracy… where have you been? Or where have I been? I have to go back and see if I’ve missed some of your posts!! It’s been way too long, my friend.. <3

    I LOVE these!! I'm definitely trying them… I actually want one NOW. Right here in front of me. Please. And thank you! :-) Look at that freaking crust…how flaky and golden brown it is. It's absolutely perfect.

    I had to laugh at your "No offense to Kraft Dinner, it has its place" …. hahaha!!

    Reply
  3. Those look delicious! I love empanadas, yours looks very tasty. :)

    Reply
  4. I absolutely love empanadas. Your’s look fantastic! And you could post pie recipes every time and I would be so pleased. It’s a matter of fact I’m making a sweet pea pie right now! :)

    Reply
  5. Love empanadas- one of my favourites! :)

    Reply
  6. I love empanadas. These look so darn flavorful!!

    Reply
  7. Ooo I love empanadas! These look super! :)

    Reply
  8. I’m pinning this recipe to try later! That pastry crust looks so good, I love the fact that the dough is homemade.

    Reply
  9. Yes yes yes. I love meals like this that you can freeze and then eat another time. I’m the same way – no matter how tired I am I would rather just power through and make something.

    I’ve actually never made empanadas at home – I need to get on that! These sound soooo good.

    Reply
  10. I bet these must be so flavorful!!

    Reply
  11. Yum! That pastry looks so flaky.

    Reply

Go ahead.. leave a comment

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 301 other followers

